RSS

It’s time to get excited about the AJC Decatur Book Festival!

06 Jun

Even though summer is only just begun here in Atlanta we are already starting to look forward to Labor Day weekend and the Decatur Book Festival (September 2-4, 2011)!

The Decatur Book Festival is a local festival sponsored by the Atlanta Journal Constitution and held in the Decatur Square in downtown Decatur, Ga. The Decatur Book Festival is the largest independent book festival in the country and it’s conveniently held right in our backyard! The festival is also active throughout the rest of the year as they promote reading and literacy in events around Atlanta.

As a future librarian I’m thrilled with groups and organizations that promote reading to people of all ages. It’s important that kids learn a love of reading early on and nothing helps to develop that better than having parents who share a passion for books and reading with their children. The Decatur Book Festival is an event that is truly for people of all ages, as there are stages and events geared towards the little ones as well as to the adults.

I can’t wait for September and the book festival to get another chance to see a range of fantastic authors. And it’s always a great opportunity for you to find yourself introduced to new authors and books!

You can see a list of past attendees here which may help you get excited about attending in September: Comprehensive Author List.

To get the more update to date news on the event you can Friend the Decatur Book Festival on Facebook or Follow them on Twitter!

Also, please leave a comment on this post to help me win two passes to the Launch Party! I’ll be sure to share any experiences and information learned there here on my blog! :-)

 
32 Comments

Posted by on 6 June, 2011 in Events

 

Tags: , ,

32 responses to “It’s time to get excited about the AJC Decatur Book Festival!

  1. www.seoorganics.net

    7 May, 2013 at 4:10 am

    I think what you posted made a bunch of sense.
    But, what about this? suppose you were to create a killer title?
    I ain’t saying your information isn’t good., but suppose you added a title to possibly get folk’s attention? I mean Its time to get excited about the AJC Decatur Book Festival! | Breaking the Binding is kinda boring. You could peek at Yahoo’s front page and note
    how they create post headlines to grab viewers interested.
    You might add a related video or a picture or two to get people excited about everything’ve got to say. Just my opinion, it might bring your posts a little livelier.

     
  2. Diana

    19 April, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    I like what you guys are usually up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

     
  3. access hollywood msnbc

    17 February, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement
    account it. Look advanced to more added agreeable from you!
    However, how can we communicate?

     
  4. Matt Wood

    13 June, 2011 at 7:40 am

    Very excited – can’t wait for the festival1

     
  5. Adnama

    13 June, 2011 at 6:47 am

    I can haz?

     
  6. Jill Swenson

    11 June, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Looking forward to the next Decatur Book Festival! I’ve attended for the last three years and hope to make it this year too. One of my favorite authors, Diana Gabaldon, is a thrill to hear. I love shopping for books for myself and for my classroom. It’s a great way to end the summer!

     
  7. Willyb50

    11 June, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    What a great way to spend Labor Day Weekend–Dragon Con parade Saturday morning, then the Decatur Book Fair Saturday afternoon and Sunday! Loved Diana Gabaldon was most entertaining last year.

     
  8. Sonia

    11 June, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Oh, I hope you get the chance to go! It sounds like a lot of fun.

     
    • That Girl

      11 June, 2011 at 1:53 pm

      I’m hoping I’ll get to go to the launch party! I’m definitely going to the Book Festival this year, splitting my time between Dragon Con and Decatur! It’ll be a busy, busy weekend for sure.

       
  9. Ethan

    11 June, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    Marking my calendar, I’ll be visting friends in the ATL that weekend and may be can drop by.

     
  10. Trisha Connor

    11 June, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Definitely sounds like a plan for my family! I’ll mark the calendar. Thanks for the info!

     
  11. Lindsay

    11 June, 2011 at 1:20 pm

    That sounds like a great festival!

     
  12. Anonymous

    11 June, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    Never heard about the Decatur Book Festival before. Sound’s great! :)

     
  13. Jared van Aalten

    11 June, 2011 at 1:05 pm

    I’ve went last year and had so much fun! I can’t believe it’s been a year since then. I will definitely have to come back again.

     
  14. Scott

    11 June, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    Decatur Book Festival is the best! Went last year for the first time, and will be back!

     
  15. Mara

    11 June, 2011 at 8:29 am

    I’m coming into town for Dragon Con this year and I just may have to sneak away to the book festival. I can’t wait to see the author lineup when it’s posted!

     
  16. Maryanne Heard

    9 June, 2011 at 10:21 pm

    Agh! Yet another reason to miss Atlanta! I hope it’s awesome, the lineup looks great.

     
  17. John Mercer

    9 June, 2011 at 10:44 am

    If I was still in Atlanta, I’d attend in a heartbeat. Sarah, you’re really making me miss Decatur! Great town!

     
  18. Anonymous

    8 June, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    I’m jealous and wish I lived in Atlanta so that I could attend!

     
  19. Jessie

    8 June, 2011 at 11:16 am

    Yay! We should eat at Leon’s afterwards :)

     
  20. Jenn

    8 June, 2011 at 9:19 am

    Sounds super awesome!

     
  21. Anonymous

    8 June, 2011 at 9:11 am

    sounds exciting!

     
  22. Kelly

    6 June, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    I’ve never heard of the Decatur Book Festival before, but I definitely think I want to go this year! It sounds exciting.

     
  23. Jessi

    6 June, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    So many days of my childhood were spent curled up with a good book, thanks to my teachers, librarians, and my teacher/librarian mother! The festival sounds really fun and I’ve heard so many good things about it. I definitely want to make it out there this year!

     
  24. Juliana

    6 June, 2011 at 11:19 am

    Yay! I had to miss it last year, so I’m going to try my best to be there this time around.

     
    • That Girl

      6 June, 2011 at 11:20 am

      Hopefully I’ll see you there! I’m going to be splitting my time between Dragon Con and the Book Festival this year! :-)

       
  25. Abra

    6 June, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Yay! Can’t wait for the festival! I totally agree about promoting literacy for our youth; too many seniors that I teach are simply not there :(

     
  26. Teija

    6 June, 2011 at 10:13 am

    I’ve always wanted to go to the Decatur Book Festival! I’ve never been before, but I definitely want to get out there and see it. Any opportunity to encourage reading in people of all ages is a good one in my book!

     
  27. Amanda Hunter

    6 June, 2011 at 10:01 am

    YAY! I am so excited :) I totally agree..promoting literacy in our youth should be a huge priority. I have never been to the Decatur Book Festival, but i plan to this year!

     
  28. DJ

    6 June, 2011 at 10:01 am

    Can’t wait! When is the festival?

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

