RSS

Tuesday Top Ten: Top Ten Books I Resolve To Read in 2011

04 Jan

It’s Tuesday again and over at The Broke and the Bookish that means it’s time for another Tuesday Top Ten! This week’s topic is the Top Ten Books I Resolve To Read in 2011. This list was pretty issue to come up with, but there are certainly some books on there I’m ashamed to say that I haven’t read yet! This resolution is perhaps the kick in the behind that I needed to get moving on that list.

So, here we go!

1. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith. My roommate read this a few years ago and every so often she asks “Have you read this yet?”. And then proceeds to tell me that I should and I should  do it soon. So I will. Cause she’s usually write about stuff like that.

2. Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry. I read The Giver in fifth grade and it’s be to en one of my favorites ever since. This is the companion book to The Giver and I’m intrigued to see what Lowry does with it.

3. The Wild Irish: A Novel of Elizabeth I and the Pirate O’Malley by Robin Maxwell. I’m fascinated by Tudor England and female pirates. A book that combines both? Yes please!

4.  Igraine The Brave by Cornelia Funke. I adored the Inkheart trilogy so I bought this last fall when I was wandering through B&N. It’s time I gave it a chance and I doubt Funke is going to disappoint me.

5. Bitten by Kelly Armstrong. Many friends have told me that I will enjoy this series. I’ve put it off because I don’t have time to get sucked into another ever-growing series, but I’ve been looking for some good mindless entertainment. I think this fits the bill nicely.

6. Franny and Zooey by J.D. Salinger. I’ve never managed to sit down and read this book. It’s about time I take a trip to the library, check it out and dig in.

7. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. I heard about this book everywhere last year and it’s cover seems to stare at me from the front of every bookstore I went into. The reviews on Amazon are overwhelming positive so I’m hoping I enjoy it as well and it’s not one where I wonder what everyone else was thinking then they gave it 5 stars.

8. Thirteenth Child (Frontier Magic) by Patricia C. Wrede. I bought this book last fall for class but never got around to reading it. It’s a kind of old west/prairie story with a magical element involved. I’ve been told that since I love both fantasy and historical fiction that this book is right up my alley.

9. The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien. I got this book as a Christmas present almost seven years ago, yet it’s never left it’s spot beside my (well-read) copy of Lord of the Rings. I can’t help but feel I ‘ll be disappointed when I read it, because it isn’t LotR. However, I think it’s time I take the plunge and enter a new part of Tolkien’s world.

10. Across the Universe by Beth Revis. I’m really excited for this book because I don’t think there’s enough sci-fi in the YA world. Especially sci-fi that’s geared towards a female audience. I’m a huge sci-fi fan and cannot wait to get started on this one! Is it

Most All of the books on the above list will be read for the Off the Shelf reading challenge I’m participating in! This is a great way to bust through my TBR pile, as it just keeps growing and growing! Maybe that’s a sign I need to stop walking into Borders or B&N to “kill time”… or surfing amazon…or yeah, not gonna happen).

 
 

Tags:

One response to “Tuesday Top Ten: Top Ten Books I Resolve To Read in 2011

  1. ally marti

    6 April, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    loved The Help!! I could NOT put it down!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
