RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Love Stories

15 Feb

It’s Tuesday again and over at The Broke and the Bookish that means it’s time for another Tuesday Top Ten! This week’s topic is the Top Ten Favorite Love Stories. I don’t typically read a lot of traditional love stories, I’m more of a historical fiction, sci-fi/fantasy girl, but there are a lot of romantic elements in those books. So, here goes nothing:

1. Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.
This is my favorite love story I’ve ever read. It’s  heartening to see that Florentino holds on to his love for Fermina despite all the obstacles that stand in their way. I think the hopeless romantic in me would like to think that someone out there loves me as much as he loved her.

2. The Wedding by Nicholas Sparks.
I’m not usually a fan of Nicholas Sparks, but there is something so real about this story of a married couple rediscovering their love for each other. So often you see couples reach that point in their life and their marriage where they simply fall apart and it’s encouraging to see Wilson and Jane fall back together. And more importantly fall back in love.

3. Othello by William Shakespeare.
A wonderfully tragic love story, that is, in my opinion,  more powerful and saddening that that of Romeo and Juliet. It’s fascinating to watch as Iago tears down and breaks apart Othello and Desdemona, who’s love isn’t quite enough to save them in the end. When reading this I was also very impressed to see an inter-racial couple goign so far back into literature.

4. Vampire Academy Series by Richelle Mead
I spent six books longing for Rose and Dimitri to be able to be together. They complement each other beautifully: Rose’s impulsiveness is muted by Dimitri’s calm and rational thinking. These two were made for each other and despite all of the obstacles (and there are a lot!) that cross their path they seem to find themselves pulled back together. It’s a magnetic force they just can’t fight.

5. Anne of the Island by L.M. Montgomery.
Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe have danced around each other for years. Everyone in Avonlea assumed they’d get married, but Anne was always adamant they were simply friends. She was so lighthearted in her friendship that she never noticed the deep love Gilbert had for her nor she for him until it was almost too late. The scene at the end of this novel never fails to bring happy tears to my eyes.

6. The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger.
You know from the beginning that this story isn’t going to have a picture perfect happy ending, but you get swept away by Clare and Henry regardless. Their love transcends time and is powerful enough to  keep them going through the roughest spots. It’s a love that is inspiring and a love that you wish you could have for yourself.

7. Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling.
I love watching the romance develop between Ron and Herimone over their seven years at Hogwarts. To see two people who are so utterly different become so absolutely perfect for each other is incredible to watch. I personally think it’s because the are so different that they work so well together and I nearly dropped my book in excitement when the moment finally arrived.

8. Vision of the Future by Timothy Zahn.
Timothy Zahn is my favorite of the EU Star Wars authors and Mara Jade is hands down my favorite Star Wars character. Luke and Mara slowly move from being enemies and rivals to being friends and then finally lovers. Their journey is slow and takes several books, but this slow process makes it that much more satisfying when it finally comes to fruition.

9. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell.
This was probably the first true love story I ever read. Sure there were elements of love and romance in other books, but hey this novel is one of the great love stories in literature! Who doesn’t fall in love with Scarlett falling in love with others? But it’s her story with Rhett that grabs at your heart and both elates you and leaves you crushed. Even when things are rocky the power of their love seems to radiate off of the page.

10. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.
It would be hard to write a list of my top ten favorite love stories without mentioning Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy. I love this story and I love Mr. Darcy as well. This book also has one of my favorite quotes about love: “You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” *sigh*

 

To view more Tuesday Top Ten lists swing over to The Broke and the Bookish!

 
 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Favorite Love Stories

  1. bookzilla

    15 February, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    I know what you mean about the Harry Potter series. I grew up with those characters, and I’ve always loved books that cover a big chunk of the characters’ lifespans. It’s fun to see how they change and grow together. Nice list!

     
    • That Girl

      16 February, 2011 at 7:51 am

      Thanks! I felt so personally attached to all those characters by the end that it was hard to let the books go. I love when that happens!

       

Leave a Reply

 
