RSS

Book Review: Where She Went

07 Apr

 

Title: Where She Went

Author: Gayle Forman

Publication Date: April 5, 2011

Genre: Young Adult

Publisher: Penguin Group

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Summary (from Barnes & Noble): It’s been three years since the devastating accident . . . three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life forever.

Now living on opposite coasts, Mia is Juilliard’s rising star and Adam is LA tabloid fodder, thanks to his new rock star status and celebrity girlfriend. When Adam gets stuck in New York by himself, chance brings the couple together again, for one last night. As they explore the city that has become Mia’s home, Adam and Mia revisit the past and open their hearts to the future–and each other.

Told from Adam’s point of view in the spare, lyrical prose that defined If I Stay, Where She Went explores the devastation of grief, the promise of new hope, and the flame of rekindled romance.

My Review (caution, possible spoilers ahead!): I have been waiting for this book ever since I heard Gayle Forman was writing a sequel to If I Stay. When I read If I Stay (after drying my tears) I was left with this feeling of longing for Mia, and for Adam, to know that they were alright and that they were able to move forward after the accident. For some reason that was important to me and I was not let down by the continuation. It was interesting to see how strong the pull between these two still was, even despite the way that Mia just vanished from Adam’s life. It seems as if along the way there was this connection simultaneously pulling them back together  and pushing them apart.  Mia had it right when she said “I needed someone to hate and since I love you the most you were it”.

It was interesting falling the story this time from Adam’s point of view and I felt that the jumps back in time and then back to the present really represented his state of mind. It felt real to me, like I was right there with Adam as he dealt with all of this. Gayle’s prose, while simple and not overly complicated, is beautifully suited to convey the emotions these two young adults were feeling throughout these past three years. These characters are real and the emotions you feel with them are real and it’s a rare author that can bring that out in people.

If you haven’t read If I Stay I definitely recommend going  out right now and getting it, then immediately turn around and read Where She Went. You won’t be disappointed.

 


 
 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
