RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Rebels In Literature (characters or authors)

05 Jul

It’s Tuesday again and over at The Broke and the Bookish that means it’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday! This week’s topic is the Top Ten Rebels In Literature (characters or authors) — Those people who stood up for what they believed in despite the cost of doing so. This was a fun topic to do so I hope you enjoy reading my choices!

1. Guy Montag in Fahrenheit 451. Guy may be my absolute favorite rebel in all of literature. If you haven’t read this book I insist that you read it as soon as possible. It’s a legitimate fear I have for our society’s future and I only hope I’d have the strength to stand up to it like Guy did.

2. Rose Hathaway. When we first meet Rose in Vampire Academy, she has stood up against everyone at the school in order to protect Lissa. Rose would give her life for Lissa and she often stands up against all odds to do this. She continues to stand up for what she believes despite the consequences that her actions have.

3. Hans Hubermann from The Book Thief. This quiet and gentle man is not your picture definition of a rebel. However, he teaches his adopted daughter and his wife that it is worth the consequences to stand up for what you believe in. In the process Hans saves a life and imparts Liesel that will never be forgotten. While Liesel is certainly a rebel (and a strong female character at that I feel that Hans deserves the place on this list far more.

4. Lyra in His Dark Materials Trilogy. Lyra rebels against almost everything in her life. She is strong willed, independent and incredibly driven. She rebels against what she knows is wrong and she strives for what she believes is right. Lyra is so much more important than she realizes and her rebellious nature is just what is needed to succeed.

5. Katniss in The Hunger Games Trilogy. Katniss spends the entire book rebelling against the Capital and anyone else around her who may be determined to hold people down and submit them to control. No matter what the consequences are she forges ahead with dangerous objectives and often rash decisions, but in her heart she knows they are right.

6. Adam from If I Stay and Where She Went. Adam rebels against the doctors and the conventional idea that Mia will not survive her injuries from her accident. His fierce determination and refusal to bow to the inevitable earn him a place on this list without a doubt in my mind.

7. Any stories told about the Holocaust. The stories range from the martyrs, the rescuers, the victims and the survivors. All of these people are rebels and it’s touching to see them stand up to the Nazis and their beliefs in order to fight and survive for what they knew was right. Here are just a few of the many incredible books that are out there:

 In My Hands: Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer by Irene Gut Opdyke
 Sophie Scholl and the White Rose by Jud Newborn and Annette Dumbach
Schindler’s List by Thomas Keneally
Survival In Auschwitz by Primo Levi

8. Romeo and Juliet. They rebelled against their parents and their society to be together. While I think they went to the absolutely extreme to do so, their intentions were pure and driven by love.

9. Anne Frank in The Diary of Anne Frank. Anne and her family rebelled against an evil that was all too terrifyingly real. They refused to submit to the Nazis and “go quietly into the night” aboard the trains to the camps that could be the death of them. They instead hide and tried their hardest to survive the war. Anne had a great deal of courage for a young girl and rebelling against a nation;’s arm is not an easy option.

10. Neville Longbottom. As Dumbledore said in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, it takes courage to stand up to your enemies but it takes a great deal more to stand up to your friends. Little did we know that was simply a precursor to what we could expect from him throughout the seven books of the series!

 

Tags: , , ,

16 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Rebels In Literature (characters or authors)

  1. Arpit Kaushal

    9 October, 2016 at 1:48 pm

    How about adding Howard Roark from ‘The Fountainhead’ by Ayn Rand?

     
  2. Laura

    6 July, 2011 at 5:10 am

    Ooh, Neville is a great one! I guess everyone tends to think of Harry (and, I thought, Snape) when they think of rebels in Harry Potter, but Neville is a quiet little rebel! I’m really loving everyone’s lists this week!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      6 July, 2011 at 6:42 am

      Neville is one of my favorite characters from the series, and he’s definitely the more quiet rebel (at least until Book 7!). I couldn’t leave him off!

       
  3. Karen

    6 July, 2011 at 12:52 am

    Great list. When I was thinking of going the banned books/rebel authors route I considered Philip Pullman. He has received a lot of criticism for some of the views he expresses in those books and not once does he apologise for it. Got to admire that (and I love Lyra, she’s a great character).

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      6 July, 2011 at 6:43 am

      I think your assessment of Pullman is spot on. He’s an incredible author and I highly respect him for not apologizing for the work that he creates. I think other authors could take a lesson or two from him.

       
  4. Tee

    5 July, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    I LOVE that you included Hans Hubermann! Remembering that book gives me chills. What a great character and total rebel.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      6 July, 2011 at 7:43 am

      “The Book Thief” has definitely been one of the best books I’ve read all year. Hans was my absolutely favorite character and my heart broke when I read the story.

       
  5. smellincoffee

    5 July, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Loved seeing Anne here, I’m tempted to name a future hypothetical daughter after her.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      6 July, 2011 at 6:44 am

      I think that’s a fantastic idea! She was such a courageous young girl, it amazes me each time i re-read her diary.

       
  6. Mimi

    5 July, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    I also listed Neville. I forgot about Rose but she is a good one too 🙂

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      6 July, 2011 at 7:31 am

      I adore Rose. A friend introduced me to Vampire Academy 2 years ago and I blew through the first 3 books in about 2 days. I think Richelle Mead did an amazing job of writing her.

       
  7. Nicolette

    5 July, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Love your choices. Anne Frank was so very brave and open in her diary… Love Neville Longbottom as a choice. We share Lyra in our choices…

     
  8. Anne

    5 July, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    I agree with Lyra. I can’t believe how brave she was.

     
  9. Jenna

    5 July, 2011 at 1:28 pm

    I can’t believe I forgot Lyra!! And Neville Longbottom is an excellent choice; I totally forgot about him. Great list!

     
  10. Ovrelia

    5 July, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I like your chose of Neville Longbottom and I completely agree with you. I didn’t think about him at all when I was compiling my list.
    By the way, I love your blog design – so slick and simple.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      5 July, 2011 at 1:25 pm

      Thanks! I can’t take credit for the design, it’s one of the pre-designed WordPress options, but I fell in love with it when I saw it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
