RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I Would DIE to meet (living or dead)

12 Jul

It’s Tuesday again and over at The Broke and the Bookish that means it’s time for another Tuesday Top Ten! This week’s topic is the Top Ten Authors I Would DIE to meet (living or dead). This was a fun list to write and hopefully I’ll be able to check some of the authors off of my list at some point in my life!

1. William Shakespeare. I’ve studied him in classes for so long (English Major) that I’d love to be able to sit down with him and ask his opinions on his plays and the imagery they are filled with. And, I figure, if I were to met him I could finally help put to rest the debate over who he really is!

2. Robin McKinley. Her books have stood the test of time on m bookshelf and even now remain some of my favorites. my copies of The Hero and the Crown and The Outlaws of Sherwood are almost falling apart, but that’s how you know how well-loved they are.

3. Stephen King. I’m not a fan of horror at all, but I have great respect for the man as a writer, his book On Writing is one of my most referenced books on my shelf. He’s fascinating and I’m sure he’d be great to sit down and talking craft over a few beers. Plus, this article made me respect and adore him even more.

4. J.K. Rowling. I mean really, who doesn’t want to meet the woman who created Harry Potter? I’m pretty sure that this one is obvious. I think she’s amazing and I’d love to sit down with a cup of tea, some biscuits and learn all the details of the world she has locked away in her mind.

5. J.R.R. Tolkien. Lord of the Rings was my first foray into EPIC fantasy. I had read fantasy for some time, but this was the first time that I found myself in a world this elaborate. The words of this story are so poetic that it’s so easy to lose yourself in them without even realizing it.

6. Douglas Adams. I find it safe to assume the man behind the Hitchhiker books has to be fun and entertaining to talk to.

7. Anne Frank. While this was not the first book I read about the Holocaust (that honor would fall to Number the Stars by Lois Lowry), it was the first book to have a great impact on how I viewed that time period. I credit this book with my interest in the Holocaust and my ongoing search to learn as much as I can about what happened in a small effort to understand why it happened. I guess that I feel that I can help bring some justice and peace to the memory of those who perished by sharing their story and helping to pass it on, never letting it fade away.

8. Gayle Forman. If I Stay was one of the best books that I read last year and one of very few (non-Holocaust) books that made me cry from the beginning. And I was so excited to see a book that featured a girl who was a cello player. It was beautiful and breathtaking and I’d love to talk with the creator.

9. Madeline L’Engle. Her book Troubling A Star remains my favorite YA/MG book of all time. I’ve had to tape the spine of my book back together at least once. And I will always love her for being one of the first to give girls a place and a role in science fiction.

10. The Grimm Brothers. I adore fairy tales and these are some of the first ones I remember reading. I’d love to talk to them and find out where they pulled all the stories from.

This list was HARD as there are so man authors I’d love to meet! Since I had a difficult time narrowing it down to just 10 authors here are my honorable mentions:

George Lucas
Michael Crichton
Jane Yolen
Katherine Kerr
Mark Twain
Stephanie Meyer (per my roommate’s suggest, just so we could punch her in the face)

There are other authors who would have made this list had it been written a few years ago (coughTimothy Zahncough). I consider myself very lucky to have met the authors that I have and I look forward to meeting many more in September at the Decatur Book Festival!

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I Would DIE to meet (living or dead)

  1. Kate

    14 July, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Love your list! I thought about Anne Frank, as that book, even though read almost 30 years ago, still is thought about and I think that every teen should read it! I will have to check out Gayle Forman…sounds very interesting! I hope you visit my list.

     
  2. trish

    12 July, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    Ha! Yes, Steven King would be fun to have a beer with, wouldn’t he? I’m not a fan of horror so much either, but he is a master of suspense too, and that’s pretty cool.

     
  3. Alissa

    12 July, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    The Grimm brothers would surely be interesting. Nice pick. :]

     
  4. Tara @ Hobbitsies

    12 July, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    J.R.R Tolkien is a perfect author for list! I had lunch at the same pub he used to eat in at Oxford and I was just like…in awe, haha!

     
  5. Kathy Maxwell

    12 July, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I never thought about Anne Frank! That’s a great choice! And Madeleine L’Engle! Good list!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
