RSS

New Books and Nifty Articles

05 Aug

So, in retrospect I may have gone a tad overboard on my Amazon orders in the past two days. However, I’ve been eying the books that are due to release in the next two months and finally bit the bullet and pre-ordered them all. SO, now I have to sit and wait patiently until their release dates are finally here and the books appear on my door step.

In order of release I have pre-ordered:

The Magician King by Lev Grossman releases on August 9, 2011. This is the sequel to The Magicians and I’m hoping that this next chapter will redeem the author in my eyes for leaving me so unfulfilled at the end of the first book. I’m also excited as Lev will be at the Barnes and Noble in my neighborhood speaking and signing at the end of the month. I certainly never turn down a chance to go to an author event so you know I’ll be there!

Bloodlines by Richelle Mead releases on August 23, 2011. I’ve been anxiously awaiting the start of this Vampire Academy spin-off since the day she announced it would be actually happening! I adore Richelle Mead and love how well she manages to write both strong and interesting female and male leads. I’m especially excited to know that Adrian will be a part of this series as I grew especially attached to him in Vampire Academy!

The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore releases on August 23, 2011. This is the second book in the Lorien Legacies. I enjoyed the first book immensely (not the movie so much) and so I’m intrigued to see a new character introduced and can’t wait to see where the action takes us this time!

The Slayer Chronicles: First Kill by Heather Brewer release on September 20, 2011. A spinoff/ companion series to her amazing Chronicles of Vladimr Todd, this book is sure to be as full of evil, intrigue, vampires and do-gooders as that series was! I’m a proud Master Minion and can’t wait to sink my fangs into this book!

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins releases on September 29, 2011. I ADORED Anna and the French Kiss so I’m excited to see Stephanie Perkins back in her sophomore novel.From what I’ve heard I will love this book as much, and if possible, even more than I did Anna. Let’s hope my fellow bloggers are right!

The Heroes of Olympus: The Son of Neptune by Rick Riordan releases on October 4, 2011. The Percy Jackson Series and the Kane Chronicles have fast become guilty pleasure reads for me. It’s amazing how fast I blow through them and how engrossed in Riordan’s world i become. I was ecstatic to discover last fall that Riordan was continuing in Jackson’s world and I devoured The Lost Hero the day it came out. I have no doubt I’ll do the same with this one as well!

 

In my attempt to entertain myself on my lunch breaks this week I’ve read quite a few book related articles around the web. Today I came across one that will give some good news to all of you eBook adopters that are bemoaning the loss of autographed books! Check it out over here at Author E*M*S.

And for all of you writer’s out there you need to read Claire Grand’s article Keep Calm and Write Your Damn Book. It provides a humorous look at the slippery slope a writer can find themselves on!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 5 August, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “New Books and Nifty Articles

  1. victoriasueno

    30 September, 2011 at 2:47 am

    I read the Vampire Academy Series within a few weeks and finished Bloodlines in a few days, I can’t get enough of Rose and Sydney. I enjoyed the contrast of the two girls’ personalities and Richelle Mead writes in a tone that makes her easy to read. I’m definitely going to buy Bloodlines so I can reread it when The Golden Lily is released.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      30 September, 2011 at 5:59 am

      I’m glad you enjoyed Bloodlines too! I was a tad bit skeptical that I wouldn’t like Sydney as much as I loved Rose, but Richelle Mead managed to prove me wrong! I really can’t wait for The Golden Lily now…. Sometimes I wish I had the willpower to wait until a series was over so I didn’t have to face months of anticipation!

      If you haven’t already you should check out her adult series, The Dark Swan books and the Georgina Kincaid series. Both are really awesome as well and have great female leads (one is a succubus and the other is a shaman). The Kincaid series is finished and the Dark Swan series will wrap up in January!

       

Leave a Reply

 
