RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Endings That Left Me With My Mouth Hanging Open

04 Oct

It’s Tuesday again and over at The Broke and the Bookish that means it’s time for another Tuesday Top Ten! This week’s topic is the Top Ten Book Endings That Left Me With My Mouth Hanging Open (because of the cliffhanger or because it the ending was MINDBLOWING, etc. I’m having to be very careful with spoilers, so I won’t explain why it left me this way, just that it did.

1. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by JK Rowling. I suppose, in hindsight, that I sorta saw it coming, but when it actually happened I was so shocked and amazed that Rowling would actually do it.

2. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. Total cliff-hanger that had me diving headfirst, without hesitation, into Mockingjay. My only thought was “Thank God I waited to read this until all three books were released to start reading!).

3. Shadow Kiss by Richelle Mead. I vaguely remember throwing the book across the couch and texting my friend demanding to know why I had to wait five more months until book 4 was out.

4. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. I’m still not sure what I think of this book, but I know that I sat there, stunned, when the book ended. And now I must know more!

5. The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson. And here I thought everything had wrapped itself up all nice and neatly and then THAT happened. What?

6. Delirium by Lauren Oliver. Seriously, so did not see that ending coming. At all.

7. The Stand by Stephen King. This is one of only a handful of Stephen King books that I’ve read and enjoyed (I’m not a big horror person) and I was amazed at the ending. But, I suppose it does make sense the longer I think about it.

8. Bloodlines by Richelle Mead. This was jaw dropping, but in a good way. I CANNOT WAIT til The Golden Lily comes out!

9. The Time Travelers Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. Looking back now it doesn’t seem so shocking, but when finished I remember sitting there with tears streaming down my face and my jaw just dropped.

10. The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien. When I finished the first of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, I cried. And then I picked up The Two Towers and all was mostly well. But I just remember the pain I felt as Fellowship ended, I didn’t want to believe what I had read.

Most of these are books that I’ve read (or re-read) fairly recently. Apparently my brain isn’t able to think much farther back than the last year, I guess it’s because I’m burned out by grad school. I have to say that while I do curse the waiting for the next book, I love when a story or a book ends with me in shock, starting at the page and trying to figure out if that just actually happened. It’s the sign of a great writer in my opinion.

What’s your top ten (or one or two, whatever!) books that left you mind blown? Do you agree or disagree with my choices? Let me know in the comments, I’m curious to hear what everyone thinks!

 

15 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Endings That Left Me With My Mouth Hanging Open

  1. Alexa @ Alexa Loves Books

    4 October, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    I so agree about Catching Fire. I went straight into reading Mockingjay even though it was 3AM on a week night and I had work the next day, lol!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      5 October, 2011 at 7:13 am

      Thankfully I read them over the course of a weekend! I had purchased “The HUnger Games on my iPad” and I went immediately to the book store to get the other two, pretty sure I sat in my car in the parking lot for about an hour reading before I realized I should probably drive home!

       
  2. bookzilla

    4 October, 2011 at 6:16 pm

    Name of the Star has a cliffhanger? Dang it! That’s on my TBR list. :p Half-Blood Prince was a pretty big jaw-dropping moment. Thankfully the series ends well.

     
  3. reading rendezvous reviewz

    4 October, 2011 at 10:16 am

    1,2,6 just about on everyone list. 8 and 9 making have had some shout outs. Happy reading 2 U!

     
  4. trish

    4 October, 2011 at 9:40 am

    Yes, The Stand! It’s been a long long time since I read that. It’s a great addition to this list.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 October, 2011 at 9:44 am

      I LOVE The Stand which surprised everyone I know because I’m not a huge Stephen King fan. (I think he’s a fantastic writer, but I don’t like horror as I mentioned in the post so I never read much of his stuff). BUt I was really impressed with the way he handled the religious aspects of the book and the ending did leave me a bit open mouthed and frustrated!

       
  5. inlibrisveritas

    4 October, 2011 at 9:40 am

    I have Deathly Hallows on my list. HBP wasn’t a surprise to me because someone decided to write it in the newspaper the day of release what was going to happen. I mean who does that…

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 October, 2011 at 9:42 am

      I can’t believe that anyone would do that! I made a very concerted effort to stay away from any and all writings about the Harry Potter books until I’d finished reading the book. I was terrified that something would be ruined for me. I’m sorry that you had that happen 😦

       
  6. kathy

    4 October, 2011 at 9:34 am

    Nice list! We have a couple in common, and then you have a few that I want to read. Maybe I should wait on a couple of those because I seriously hate the wait between books. I read Catching Fire about 6 months before Mockingjay came out. I think that was the worst part of that ending… knowing I’d have to wait so long to find out what happened next. 🙂

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 October, 2011 at 9:43 am

      I will definitely check your list out! Although I have a feeling reading some other lists will just make my TBR pile grow larger…

       
  7. AlisonCanRead

    4 October, 2011 at 9:26 am

    I sobbed and sobbed at Time Traveler’s Wife. I loved the ending of Bloodlines. I keep re-reading it and squealing.

     
  8. Willa

    4 October, 2011 at 8:38 am

    I felt exactly the same way about Catching Fire and was sooooo happy that I had already bought Mockingjay!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 October, 2011 at 8:54 am

      I can’t imagine reading them as they were released! It would’ve been torture to wait for Mockingjay!!

       
  9. Kathy Coleman (@Katallina)

    4 October, 2011 at 7:52 am

    Hmm… I definitely agree with you about HP & the Half Blood Prince, Shadow Kissed and Catching Fire. Of the three, I think Shadow kiss made me the saddest, whereas Catching Fire just made me want to read Mockingjay. The ending for Half Blood Prince shocked me a lot. I also have Delirium sitting on myself and I am getting very nervous about reading it because it’s been on more lists then Harry Potter tonight. Yikes.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 October, 2011 at 8:55 am

      Don’t let the lists scare you off, Delirium was quite good. It’s just got a shocking/cliff-hanger ending! But it’s definitely worth the read when you get a chance!

       

Leave a Reply

 
