RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Childhood Faves

06 Dec

It’s Tuesday again and over at The Broke and the Bookish that means it’s time for another Tuesday Top Ten! This week’s topic is the Top Ten Childhood Faves! I absolutely LOVE this topic and it will be hard to narrow it down to just ten books :-/

1. the Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. Little House in the Big Woods was the very first chapter book I read on my own. I remember begging my mom to get me the rest of the books in the series as fast as she could so that I continue reading all about Laura, Mary, Carrie and the others!

2. Love You Forever by Robert Munch. I always wanted my mom and dad to read this book to me when I was little. It wasn’t until I got older that I realized just how sweetly sad this book is and how depressing it must have been for them to read out loud all the time.

3. Little Women (and Little Men and Jo’s Boys) by Louisa May Alcott. This is still one of my favorite books of all time and Jo March will forever be my literary heroine (although Hermione Granger is giving her a run for her money!). I loved escaping into the world of the four sisters and I felt both their happiness and sorrow alongside them.

4. Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell. This book had me convinced that it would be utterly fantastic to run away and live by myself on a deserted island. Luckily I grew up and realized that there’s no way I’d survive, but I still enjoyed reading about a girl who did.

5. Winnie the Pooh by A.A Milne. Who didn’t read these books as a kid? My mom and Dad used to read these stories to my sister and I just before bedtime.

6. Number the Stars by Lois Lowry. This was my very first introduction to World War 2 and the Holocaust. I distinctly remember my teacher telling me that if I liked this book then I should read Anne Frank’s diary next, so I did. I late went on to minor in history with an emphasis in the Holocaust, so clearly the book resonated with me.

7.  Fairy Tales by The Brother’s Grimm. I had a very old copy of the Grimm Brother’s version of the fairy tales and I read them over and over. As I’ve gotten older I’ve collected a few other copies and versions of these fairy tales but I always find myself going back to my original copy to read them again and again.

8. A Wrinkle in Time (and it’s sequels) by Madeline L’Engle. Looking back this my was first foray into science fiction and I can’t think of a better way to start out. I still enjoy this book and each time I read it I find something new to love about it.

9. Anne of Green Gables (and its subsequent sequels) by L. M. Montgomery. To this day I still absolutely adore and wish to be Anne Shirley. I loved her want to be a writer and I was fascinated by the imagination that she had. She became the girl I wished could be my best friend and my escape into her world let me feel like I truly was.

10. The Nancy Drew series by Carolyn Keene. These series had also belonged to my mom and her sister and by the time I hit fifth grade I was obsessed with mysteries. I read one after another (something I can’t do now as they all tend to have the same basic plot) and found myself fascinated with the antics of Nancy, Bess and George.

*I think it’s very telling that most of the books I enjoyed in my childhood centered around a spunky, stubborn, independent, clever and adventurous young girl. I think that was definitely a preview of the books I would come to enjoy as an adult (and perhaps they are partly to blame for my feminist views now!).

Honorable Mentions:
The Trolley Car Family by Eleanor Lowenton Clymer
The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner
The Borrowers by Mary Norton
Stuart Little and Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
The Mouse and the Motorcycle and the Ramona books by Beverly Cleary
The Swiss Family Robinson by Johann David Wyss
The Bobbsey Twins by Laura Lee Hope
The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis

What are some of your favorite books from childhood? I decided to limit mine to books I read up until fifth grade as in middle school I was reading at a higher reading level and I don’t think I can consider those books “childhood” favorites. I’d love to see how many people remember some of the older books I wrote about, as none of my friends were really familiar with them!

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
