RSS

I’m back! A little bit about where I was and where I’m going. (in case you missed me;) )

13 Apr

It’s been a while since I last updated this blog, just about four months to be exact. Considering I’d been on a roll of posting about once every two weeks, going for four months seems like forever to me.

I missed a few things while I was gone: my one year blogerversary(!), a few huge new releases that I’d been waiting on for MONTHS and a few exciting giveaways and some (scandalous!) news in the YA world. I didn’t disappear completely, every so often I’d check Twitter, write a few tweets or reply to a few people, but for the most part I stayed away from the blogging world.

For the past few months I’ve been battling hardcore with some medium level depression and as a result a lot of things that I was really excited about got pushed aside in favor of sleeping, sitting around and sleeping. All of the energy I had was used to spend time with friends and family to help me ignore the feeling of loneliness and depression that seemed all-encompassing. As a result I had little to no energy left to even write a measly blog post. I can’t count how many drafts I started or how many times I logged into WP only to stare blankly at an empty pos, No amount of pep talks or mental pushing could get me to actually write a review or an update.

Now, I’m still far from better, but I’m really working on it. I recently sat down to evaluate the things I can do to help push myself out of this and one of those things is to get back into blogging and reviewing new books and some books I read over the last few months (apologies if you’ve read a zillion reviews on Divergent or Pandemonium :-P), which is something that I absolutely love. I like to share my thoughts about the books I’m reading and I love to read everyone’s else’s insights. So, I’m making time and giving myself some leeway to get back into the blogging groove and update regularly.

I also used some of that time to sit down and work out the outline for the story idea I’ve had rattling around my mind for the last few years. I’m really excited about it and this is a project that I know I will be putting a lot of effort into, but that will also bring me a lot of joy (which I could certainly use) So, hopefully, by the end of the year I will have a completed novel and I can start shopping around for the chance to get it published. If any of my followers or authors or aspiring authors I’d love to hear your thoughts, tricks, encouragements and writing secrets!

I look forward with connecting with more bloggers and readers so don’t hesitate to comment here, tweet at me or email me! I can always use more people to brighten my day!

Thanks for being kick-ass followers!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 13 April, 2012 in Personal, Writing

 

3 responses to “I’m back! A little bit about where I was and where I’m going. (in case you missed me;) )

  1. Amy Peveto (@AmyPeveto)

    13 April, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    Sorry to hear you’re fighting depression. 😦 I went through a slump myself during college, and it’s a hard thing to work yourself out of. Glad to hear you’re making an effort, and I hope you get to feeling much better soon.

    I got an email notification today that you subscribed to get updates from my blog, couchpotatocritic.wordpress.com; I just wanted to let you know that I’ve moved over to my own domain, so if you want to keep receiving updates you’ll need to pop over and subscribe there. You can find me at http://www.amypeveto.com, or just click through to my Twitter. 🙂

     
  2. Tammi (@tammiyk)

    13 April, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Sarah – I don’t know why I didn’t think of it before, but I should introduce you to some of my YA Lib. cohorts from UCLA who also stay active in the blogosphere. I am so happy to see that you are out and active with writing your book and keeping up with your blog. Trust me, I know what it’s like to be in a depressed rut — but yay for getting out of your rut! I also need to stay on top of book writing as well so that some day you, me and Teija can all go on book tour together. 🙂

     
  3. tekkah

    13 April, 2012 at 11:32 am

    I’m excited to start our writing time together! Brainstorming with you on our writing has already been tons of fun. I’m happy to see you blogging again 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
