RSS

Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

25 Apr

Title: Insurgent

Author: Veronica Roth

Publication Date: May 1, 2012

Genre: Dystopian YA

Publisher: HarperCollins

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

How I got it: Pre-Ordered from Amazon

Summary (from Barnes and Noble): One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

(Caution: There may be spoilers below. I’ll do my best to keep it as spoiler-free as possible, but you have been sufficiently warned. Proceed at your own risk.)

Review: Oh my, this book. THIS BOOK. Seriously, I’m not sure I’ve had time to really form any coherent thoughts about it, but I wanted to go ahead and review while it was still fresh in my mind. So I apologize for any dis-jointed ramblings.

I loved Tris in the first book even when she was being selfish and cold and frustrating. But that is nothing compared to how I felt about her here. We learn so much more about what makes Tris, Tris and it’s fascinating to see it all come together into this strong and able female character. The more I learned about her thoughts and her background the clearer it became to see how she tested for Dauntless, Erudite and Abnegation in her aptitude test.

It was also fascinating to get a better look at some of the other characters from Divergent, getting to learn more about Four/Tobias, Caleb, Uriah, Lynn, Peter, Marcus and Christina helped me feel more connected to the story. However, it also makes you feel ALL THE EMOTIONS for these characters, so be warned.

While I still kinda feel that there was a healthy dose of “instalove” between Tris and Four (Tobias), I didn’t care one bit. Maybe it’s because I felt that their Divergence made them a better match and that for once they finally had someone who understands them? Who knows, but I’m okay with it for whatever it is. I love the two of them together and it breaks my heart to see tension occurring between them. At times I wanted to stand there and smash their heads together until they saw past their own stubborn viewpoints and were able to understand the other better. BUT that tension made for better chemistry and better scenes between the two, so I’ll take it for what it gave me 🙂

This book hit the ground running (almost literally) as it continues directly from the end of Divergent (no time skipping happening here folks) and leaves you with very little time to catch your breath as it takes you on a ride. There was so much action happening and even in the slower bits the intrigue and the secrets keep you turning page after page that I could barely manage to set the book down long enough to do my real job. (that pesky job keeps getting in the way of my reading).

As a second book in a trilogy it doesn’t disappoint and it hits all the high notes you’d expect. There was enough resolution to keep you satisfied, but the cliff-hanger at the end is right up there with the one at the end of Catching Fire. Is the last book out yet? Do we really have to wait a year?

Seriously, go read this. ASAP.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on 25 April, 2012 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

  1. Lauren@THCW

    4 May, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Great review! I had lots of the same thoughts in my review. And you were SO not rambling.

     

Leave a Reply

 
