RSS

Waiting on Wednesday!

25 Apr

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly me hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine (gotta love the name!). The idea is that it spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. So, here are my picks for the week:

Insurgent
by Veronica Roth
Publication Date May 1, 2012 (next week!)

From Amazon:

One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

The Serpent’s Shadow
by Rick Riordan

Publication Date May 1, 2012 (next week!)

From Amazon:

He’s b-a-a-ack! Despite their best efforts, Carter and Sade Kane can’t seem to keep Apophis, the chaos snake, down. Now Apophis is threatening to plunge the world into eternal darkness, and the Kanes are faced with the impossible task of having to destroy him once and for all. Unfortunately, the magicians of the House of Life are on the brink of civil war, the gods are divided, and the young initiates of Brooklyn House stand almost alone against the forces of chaos. The Kanes’ only hope is an ancient spell that might turn the serpent’s own shadow into a weapon, but the magic has been lost for a millennia. To find the answer they need, the Kanes must rely on the murderous ghost of a powerful magician who might be able to lead them to the serpent’s shadow . . . or might lead them to their deaths in the depths of the underworld.

Bitterblue
by Kristin Cashore
Publication Date May 1, 2012 (next week!)

From Amazon:

Eight years after Graceling, Bitterblue is now queen of Monsea. But the influence of her father, a violent psychopath with mind-altering abilities, lives on. Her advisors, who have run things since Leck died, believe in a forward-thinking plan: Pardon all who committed terrible acts under Leck’s reign, and forget anything bad ever happened. But when Bitterblue begins sneaking outside the castle–disguised and alone–to walk the streets of her own city, she starts realizing that the kingdom has been under the thirty-five-year spell of a madman, and the only way to move forward is to revisit the past.

 

Can’t wait to see what everyone else is waiting for and excited about! Let me know your picks in the comments below, maybe it will give me something else to look forward to. 🙂

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday!

  1. Jennifer Shaw (@Jen_FicMusings)

    28 April, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    Great picks! I want to read all three of these.

     
  2. Madigan

    26 April, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    All I can say is ME TOO! I can’t wait for Insurgent! I think it’s going to be so awesome.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      27 April, 2012 at 6:54 am

      I predict Tuesday and Wednesday of next week will simply be mass excitement and rambling on about the book! I know I’ll be joining in 🙂

      Let me know what you think once you’ve read it!

       
  3. Aneeqah

    25 April, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    I can not WAIT for both Insurgent and The Serpent’s Shadow!! I’ve been waiting, literally, a whole year for both of those books! I’ve actually already read Bitterblue, and liked it. =) Thank goodness it’s almost Tuesday!!

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

     
  4. The Lost Lola

    25 April, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Yes, I cannot wait for Insurgent to come out!! It’s been so long since the last book, I hate waiting, but the wait is almost over! Great pick 🙂

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      26 April, 2012 at 7:00 am

      I love how much love Divergent/Insurgent is getting! I’m half sad I didn’t read it sooner to get more swept up in the excitement, but also glad that I just recently read it so that the wait wasn’t as long!

       
  5. Traci @ The Reading Geek

    25 April, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    Great picks! I loved Divergent and I cant wait to read Insurgent! I’m dying to know what will happen next. I also have been meaning to start Graceling for some time now. I have heard so many great about it as well.

    Thanks for stopping by my post!
    Traci @ The Reading Geek

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      25 April, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      Thanks for checking out my picks! Tuesday cannot come fast enough in my opinion!

       
  6. sqt

    25 April, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    I’m dying to get my hands on “Insurgent” (not long now!!!) and “Bitterblue” is on the list too. Great picks! Thanks for stopping by.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      25 April, 2012 at 2:49 pm

      Oh I CANNOT WAIT til next Tuesday. The hardest part will be deciding which of the three to read first!

       

Leave a Reply

 
