RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books You’d Like To See Made Into A Movie

01 May

It’s Tuesday again and over at The Broke and the Bookish that means it’s time for another Tuesday Top Ten! This week’s topic is the Top Ten Books You’d Like To See Made Into A Movie. This topic was particularly difficult to come up with all 10, as there are some books I adore and I don’t want them to be made into a movie, it’d ruin the magic for me. It was also difficult as I stuck mostly YA books for the list, with the exception of the final selection and the Honorable Mentions.

Also, there are plenty of books that I left out because I think they’d be far better suited for a minni-series that forced into the time constraint of a standard movie. I’ll list a few of those as Honorable Mentions at the bottom!

1. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead.

I hear this one echoed all over the internet by fans of this series. I think this would be a great movie for teens and would give them another strong female to use as a role-model (something I am always in favor of!). It’s also fun to debate over who should play the main characters.

2. The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley.

I would actually love to see this tale of one of my favorite heroines done in animation, as it would allow for better interpretation of the magical scenes. But I’d be happy to have it make it to the big screen in any way possible!

3. Rules by Cynthia Lord.

If this was made into a movie I would be at the theater opening night. The book centers around Catherine and her younger brought who suffers from autism. It’s a heart wrenching, yet heart warming, story that would be fantastic for all audiences.

4. Annexed by Sharon Dogar.

This is the story of the annex where Anne Frank and her family lives as told by Peter Von Pelt, the son of the other family that shared the space. There have been many movies and adaptions of Anne Frank’s diary and I would love to see the adaptation from this different angle.

5. Troubling a Star by Madeline L’Engle.

This is purely selfish as I only want to see this book brought to life as I’ve been long imagining it in my head. I don’t think it would be possible to fully capture the magic and adventure of this story in the constraints of a movie. It’s really rather rather sad.

6. The Giver by Lois Lowry.

I have always said I would love to see this book made into a movie, but at the same time I worry that it would be completely butchered. This would be a true challenge to capture the feelings of the book and convey that to the screen without ruining the magic of the story. With the right screenwriter and director I think it could be done.

7. Princess Academy by Shannon Hale.

This book would be perfect as a family summer film; it provides enough action, adventure and mystery to captivate audiences of all ages! I could totally see this one being optioned by Disney, just for the record.

8. If I Stay by Gayle Forman.

This would be, without a doubt, the biggest tearjerker of the year if it ever managed to be made into a movie. I’d love to see the story of Mia, her family and Adam fly across the screen so that I can share in their joys and sorrows. Of all the books I’ve read in the past few years this is one of only a few that struck a deep, personal chord with me and I’d love to be able to witness it brought to life.

9.  The Heir to the Empire trilogy by Timothy Zahn.

I would have LOVED to see this made in place of the prequel trilogy. The actors were all about the right age (give or take a few years but who doesn’t do that in Hollywood?) and I’ve always felt that Zahn captured the true essence of the characters in this first foray into the EU. Now, I’d rather they pay Lucas to stay far, far away from this movie as the general consensus is that he’d only butcher it (in the same fashion he’s butchered his original trilogy). Instead I can let it live on in my mind as the perfect movie.

10. His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman.

I know that this has already been done, but let’s be honest, it was pretty awful. I’d love to see them re-do this and stay as true to the book as possible. And keep the real ending in this time.

Honorable Mentions:

Sevenwaters trilogy by Juliet Marillier – This would make an awesome mini-series, even if they only made the first book.
Novels of Deverry by Katherine Kerr.
American Gods by Neil Gaiman.
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
I can’t wait to see what books other blogger’s chose! Too bad Hollywood doesn’t follow our advice, they’d have the next blockbuster on their hands in a heartbeat!

 

Tags: , , ,

11 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books You’d Like To See Made Into A Movie

  1. Madigan

    2 May, 2012 at 7:13 am

    Oh, I would love to see The Princess Academy as a movie!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      2 May, 2012 at 7:16 am

      Did you see that she’s writing a sequel?? I JUST learned this and I’m very excited. It’s called “”Princess Academy: Palace of Stone” and it releases in August. 🙂

       
  2. Ally @ Rally The Readers

    1 May, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    I love Vampire Academy! I would die to see Rose, Dimitri, and Adrian on screen!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      2 May, 2012 at 7:05 am

      Man, me too! Who do you think should play them? I’ve always kinda pictured Mila Kunis as Rose but no idea for the guys.

       
  3. Melissa Haggerty

    1 May, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    While I haven’t read many of these books, The Giver is an amazing choice! I almost picked it myself. I think it would make an amazing movie! I am with you though, that they would really have to work hard and not butcher it.

    Here is my Top Ten.

     
  4. Lauren@THCW

    1 May, 2012 at 10:18 am

    Yeah, I just decided that “movie” was a broad term and definitely picked some that I’d like to see as a cable series (not a network series, as I’m pretty sure they’d get too watered down). 🙂 And I think that YA tends to translate better to actual MOVIES, since the plots tend to not be quite as complex and move a lot faster than a lot of adult novels.

    Would you believe I haven’t read any of the books on your list? I’m kind of appalled at myself. Several of them are pretty high up on my TBR list though, and I think they just moved up a couple more notches 🙂

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      1 May, 2012 at 10:20 am

      I highly recommend all of them to pretty much any fan of YA, except perhaps the Timothy Zahn Star Wars series. They are great books but only if you’re interested in Star Wars and sci-fi in general.

       
      • Lauren@THCW

        1 May, 2012 at 10:24 am

        Something you need to know about me: I am a big nerd. Star Wars, Star Trek, comic books, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles…I love it all. So I would probably love them, and they are ON THE LIST!

        Did my Ender’s Shadow pick not give away that I’m a fan of sci-fi? 😉

         
        • Breaking the Binding

          1 May, 2012 at 10:26 am

          Okay, in that case then i HIGHLY RECCOMEND that you read the Thrawn Trilogy. I’ve read most of the EU books (up to a certain point) and his still remain my favorites.

          Also any other Star Wars book by Timothy Zahn. He is incredible, brilliant and also super nice.

           
  5. Alyssa @ Books Take You Places

    1 May, 2012 at 10:14 am

    Gahh I specifically kept Juliet Marillier off of my list because I am so afraid what would happen if Hollywood got ahold of them!! Could be epic or could be disastrous!!! Great choices!

    My Top Ten!

     
  6. tekkah

    1 May, 2012 at 8:29 am

    “Now, I’d rather they pay Lucas to stay far, far away from this movie” – haha! I agree, though. The EU books that I’ve read are pretty limited, but you made me read that trilogy first, and it would be an incredible set of movies if done right. Which means keeping Lucas far, far away.

    I’d also love to see the Vampire Academy books made into movies! Ah, to see Adrian come to life on screen…

     

Leave a Reply

 
