RSS

RIP Maurice Sendak, You will be forever Remembered.

08 May

I opened up Twitter this morning to read this, posted from the New York Times account, ‘Maurice Sendak,
Children’s Author Who Upended Tradition, Dies at 83’.(the full article can be found here)

Oh, this breaks my heart. It’s also so sad to lose a visionary or a great man, and Sendak was both.

I’ve adored Maurice Sendak since I was a child and first discovering that books held a magical quality, with the ability to transport me to far off worlds. Where the Wild Things Are was a favorite of my mom’s and subsequently become one of mine. It was a much demanded book at bedtime, story time and any other time where I wanted to simply sit and dream about visting the land where the wild things roamed.

Maurice Sendak will never be forgotten, his books will be read to children for years and years to come. My children will follow Max as he travels across the ocean, squeal with delight as Mickey raids the kitchen in the night and worry with Ida as she searches for the sister that the goblins stole.

“I have nothing now but praise for my life. I’m not unhappy. I cry a lot because I miss people. They die and I can’t stop them. They leave me and I love them more. … What I dread is the isolation. … There are so many beautiful things in the world which I will have to leave when I die, but I’m ready, I’m ready, I’m ready.” -Maurice Sendak, NPR interview.

His magic will live on and his memory will never be forgotten.

RIP, Maurice Sendak. We will love and miss you.

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “RIP Maurice Sendak, You will be forever Remembered.

  1. Leah @ The Pretty Good Gatsby

    8 May, 2012 at 6:48 pm

    I heard about his passing this morning and was devastated. Just this weekend my boyfriend & I were discussing him. He’ll definitely be missed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
