RSS

Sunday Roundup: Articles, Giveaways and Blogs to follow!

13 May

Articles to check out:

It’s no secret that I spent a lot of time on the internet. I suspect that all bloggers do, because if we didn’t spend a lot of time on the internet, we’d have no interest in blogging. Or, so my theory goes. It could be completely bananas, wouldn’t be the first time.

Anyway! Here are the links and other misc. things that I found to be interesting this week:

Ray Bradbury on Doing What You Love and Reading as a Prerequisite of Democracy @ BrainPickings
Or, “What the the love of libraries has to do with going home to Mars and the foundation of democracy.”

Really Good Books About History: Part One @ The Hairpin
I’m a history nerd (minored in it in college) and so this list has me stocking up my Amazon cart and it’s going to be disastrous for my wallet. I’m especially excited about Inferno, by Max Hastings as I am a WWII nut and I have decided that i NEED this book.

The Ongoing Problem of Race in Y.A.
In their weekly series Y.A. For Grownups the Atlantic Wire takes a look at how far we’ve come with in terms of racial diversity in books and why we still aren’t all the way there.

YA Lit: Real Diversity or Coffee-Colored Characters?
And then over at BlogHer they look at what racial diversity in books doesn’t mean.

Giveaways:

Q&A with Aimée Carter and Goddess Interrupted Giveaway: Check out YA Reads for a chance to win Goddess Interrupted by Aimée Carter!

Over at Mostly Ya Book Obsessed check out the interview with Elizabeth Norris, author of Unraveling, and sing up for a chance to win a copy of the book!

Book Stacks on Deck is reviewing and giving away a copy of Going Under by Georgia Cates. It’s a book self published by the author and I love giving indie novels some love!

And lastly over at Beth Revis‘ blog you can be entered to win a ARC copy of The Forgetting Curve and read an interview with the author!

Blogs to Checkout:

The Housework Can Wait Lauren’s blogging over at THWCW is hilarious, insightful, and just plain fun to read. If you’ve got a free moment you should definitely check her blog out!

The Pretty Good Gatsby Leah balances good reviews with interesting content and her blog is definitely a must read for me!

What articles were you reading this week? Do you know of any fun giveaways or blogs I should check out? I’d love to hear about them in the comments!

 

One response to “Sunday Roundup: Articles, Giveaways and Blogs to follow!

  1. Lauren@THCW

    13 May, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    Thanks for the mention! Your blog is one of my favorites too! I’ll have to check out Leah’s blog now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
