RSS

Waiting on Wednesday: May 16, 2012: For Darkness Shows the Stars

16 May

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly me hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine (gotta love the name!). The idea is that it spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. So, here is my pick for the week:

For Darkness Shows the Stars
by Diana Peterfreund
Publication Date: June 12, 2012

Plot
It’s been several generations since a genetic experiment gone wrong caused the Reduction, decimating humanity and giving rise to a Luddite nobility who outlawed most technology.

Elliot North has always known her place in this world. Four years ago Elliot refused to run away with her childhood sweetheart, the servant Kai, choosing duty to her family’s estate over love. Since then the world has changed: a new class of Post-Reductionists is jumpstarting the wheel of progress, and Elliot’s estate is foundering, forcing her to rent land to the mysterious Cloud Fleet, a group of shipbuilders that includes renowned explorer Captain Malakai Wentforth—an almost unrecognizable Kai. And while Elliot wonders if this could be their second chance, Kai seems determined to show Elliot exactly what she gave up when she let him go.

But Elliot soon discovers her old friend carries a secret—one that could change their society . . . or bring it to its knees. And again, she’s faced with a choice: cling to what she’s been raised to believe, or cast her lot with the only boy she’s ever loved, even if she’s lost him forever.


I first discovered Diana at DragonCon a few years back where she was promoting her newest book Rampant, a novel about girls and killer unicorns. If you haven’t read it and you love strong heroines, then I absolutely suggest you add it to your TBR book (along with the sequel Ascendant).

I love Diana’s writing and when I first heard about For Darkness Shows the Stars I was thrilled to know that I’d be seeing more of it. The more I learn about the story the more intrigued I am to see where she takes it. I have a feeling this will be one I tear into on release day (only a month away!!) and don’t put down until I’ve completely finished!

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday: May 16, 2012: For Darkness Shows the Stars

  1. Aneeqah

    16 May, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    I’m super excited for this book!! It sounds so cool, and the whole idea is totally original, and I’m just excited!! The cover is really pretty, too, which always helps. 😉 Great pick this week! =)

    -Aneeqah @ My Not So Real Life

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      24 May, 2012 at 1:31 pm

      I know! I’ve been super excited for it for quite some time now and can’t wait til it’s out!

       
  2. Danielle Chapman

    16 May, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    This does sound like it will be a wonderful book to read.

    Thanks for sharing,
    Dani
    My WoW: http://paulettespapers.com/?p=2024

     
  3. thebookcellarx

    16 May, 2012 at 11:43 am

    This one looks so great! 🙂 I can’t wait for it.

     
  4. Lisa @ Lost in Literature

    16 May, 2012 at 9:49 am

    I’ve seen this one around a bit. It sounds awesome! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Lisa @ Lost in Literature
    My WoW

     

Leave a Reply

 
