RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope People Are Still Reading In 30 Years

29 May

It’s Tuesday again and over at The Broke and the Bookish that means it’s time for another Tuesday Top Ten! This week’s topic is the Top Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope People Are Still Reading In 30 Years.

Ohhh, this is such a good topic! There are so many books that I hope stick around and continue to live their imprint on people for a good long time. So, here’s my list:

1. Harry Potter series by JK Rowling. I mean, did anyone out there really think that this wouldn’t be top on my list? I know that the first book was published 15 years ago, but I really do think that these books have earned their place in our literary canon and likely will not be going anywhere anytime soon.

2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I really cannot get over how much I loved this book. And honestly it’s a good book for anyone who knows a friend who is suffering from cancer or any other such terminal illness. Yes, it’s sad at times. Yes, it’s depressing at times. However, the emotions are all so real and I really think help give you a better insight into what someone may be going through. I sincerely hope this book is still being read and shared in thirty years.

3. How the World Makes Love: . . . And What It Taught a Jilted Groom by Franz Wisner. This is a fantastic book that starts out with Franz being left at the altar and ends up taking his pre-paid honeymoon with his brother. it leads him on a trip around the world to learn more about love and life and what it means to be happy. It’s a fantastic read and has some great life lessons for everyone in it.

4. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. To be honest I’m kinda terrified that this future could eventually happen. Maybe not to the same extent but I could see a “capital” running things and the “districts” being forced to obey. I think that this book should still be read as a cautionary tale as much as for it’s literary worth. Maybe if we keep the worst in mind we won’t ever let ourselves reach that point.

5. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak. This is another book that needs to stick around to help enlighten future generations of the horros of the Nazis and the Holocaust. I loved everything about this book, even as it was breaking my heart (as all Holocaust books tend to do) and I want to share that experience with everyone and anyone. The further we get from the events of WW2 and the Holocaust the more we need to ensure that our children understand what happened so it’s NEVER, EVER repeated.

6. The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch. This is my go-to book to re-read whenever I’m feeling down or lost or unsure about how my life is going. Randy Pausch was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in September 2006, and in August 2007 was given a terminal diagnosis. This book was his legacy, his life guide to leave behind mostly for his children, but I believe everyone can benefit from this now and in the future. Seriously, READ. THIS. BOOK.

7.  Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. Okayl, I’m cheating here as this book was published in 1999 so technically it’s outside of the ten year range. HOWEVER, I cannot stress how important the message in this book is. It’s something everyone needs to read and understand, boys and girls, men and women. Sexual assault is serious and it sadly seems to be happening more frequently. Maybe this can go a ways in helping to prevent the issue, or to encourage girls to speak up and get help.

 

Okay, so this week’s was hard and I really can’t think of any other books that I really, desperately hope will still be read in 2042 (damn that’s crazy). What books do you hope people will still be reading? I’m sure others managed to get to ten so I can’t wait to see what they have to say!

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope People Are Still Reading In 30 Years

  1. Lauren@The Housework Can Wait

    30 May, 2012 at 9:08 am

    I also found it really difficult to come up with 10, and I also cheated on the time frame a bit. But we have some overlap in our lists – I agree, HP will be sticking around for a long, long time. It’ll probably be to kids/parents of the future what Lord of the Rings is now (although I hope LOTR is still around in 30 years too).

    I really need to read something by John Green. It’s becoming inexcusable that I haven’t read any of his books yet.

    Great list. Here’s my TTT.

     
  2. Madigan

    29 May, 2012 at 7:25 am

    A nice list! I totally agree with you on Harry Potter.

    I almost included The Hunger Games – but I was disappointed by the ending. And there are a lot of series right now that are GREAT, but I reserve judgement on how they’ll be judged by history until we see how they end.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      30 May, 2012 at 8:25 am

      I agree with you on the series thing, there are some I’d certainly like to see but I want to wait until they’ve all played out!

       
  3. Azevedo

    29 May, 2012 at 6:56 am

    Harry Potter will certainly be read in 20 or more years to come. If not earlier, when they remake the movies 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
