RSS

Waiting on Wednesday: May 30, 2012: Princess Academy: Palace of Stone by Shannon Hale.

30 May

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly me hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine (gotta love the name!). The idea is that it spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. So, here is my pick for the week:

Princess Academy: Palace of Stone
by Shannon Hale
Publication Date: August 21, 2012

From Amazon:
Coming down from the mountain to a new life in the city seems a thrill beyond imagining. When Miri and her friends from Mount Eskel set off to help the future princess Britta prepare for her royal wedding, she is happy about her chance to attend school in the capital city. There, Miri befriends students who seem so sophisticated and exciting . . . until she learns that they have some frightening plans. They think that Miri will help them, that she should help them. Soon Miri finds herself torn between loyalty to the princess and her new friends’ ideas, between an old love and a new crush, and between her small mountain home and the bustling city.

I read Princess Academy as a selection for a class assignment in grad school and I adored it. Miri is a fantastic lead character, the story was exciting and the setting reminded me of Heidi (which i read over and over again as a girl). I can’t wait to read this sequel and see where all of the characters are now! Plus I’m excited to get a glimpse of the world beyond Mount Eskel, as Shannon Hale’s world building is always fantastic.

I know fairytales aren’t for everyone, but if you enjoy them I’d recommend picking up Princess Academy and waiting with me for it’s sequel!

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday: May 30, 2012: Princess Academy: Palace of Stone by Shannon Hale.

  1. Mary @mysistersbookshelf.com

    31 May, 2012 at 9:34 am

    What class in grad school??? I want to take that class!!! My sister took a Young Adult Literature class in college and I still havent gotten over being jealous. But seriously, this is one I am eagerly anticipating as well.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      31 May, 2012 at 9:44 am

      I got my Masters degree in Library Media and Technology, to be a school librarian. So we read a lot of kids and YA books in almost all my classes. It was so awesome!

       
  2. Jennifer @ Dream Reads

    30 May, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    I love fairy-tale’s. I’m gonna have to check Princess Academy out. Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my post 🙂

    Jennifer @ Dream Reads

     
  3. Alicia♥

    30 May, 2012 at 10:21 am

    Fairytales made up a great part of my childhood too! This books seems sophisticated, I wonder what’ll happen to Miri in the city!

    I’m now a new follower of your blog, do drop by mine @ http://bookaworld.wordpress.com/ too! 🙂

    -Alicia
    bookaworld.wordpress.com

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      30 May, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      Thanks for the follow! I’ll definitely check yours out as well 🙂

      I always love to find others who enjoy fairy tales as much as I do!

       
  4. laurelrainsnow

    30 May, 2012 at 8:44 am

    This actually sounds tempting…thanks for sharing!

    Here’s MY WOW POST

     

Leave a Reply

 
