RSS

Kicking off Armchair BEA with “Meet the Blogger – All About Me”!

04 Jun

This is my first year participating in Armchair BEA and I’m totally excited! First up we’ve been asked to do a mini-interview with ourselves, to help us all get acquainted with each other better.I’ve been blogging for about a year and a half, but I’ve stayed at the fringes of the community up until now. Hopefully this will help me to meet new blogging buddies and get more involved with things.

So, without further ado here’s my super exclusive interview with myself!

Who are you? How long have you been blogging? Why did you get into blogging? 
*stands up* Hello my name is Sarah and I’m a book addict. *waits patiently for the return chorus of “hello Sarah”* I started blogging in January 2011 as a way to document all the books that I was reading for my Masters degree (I have a M.E. in Library Media and Technology from Georgia State University), at that point I was flying through two – three books a week just to keep up with the curriculum. Blogging about what I was reading made it more fun and less work for me (although I still had to write the papers and do the projects). I had a few months where I neglected my blog, but I’m picking it up with a renewed energy and can’t wait to make it even better going forward (all suggestions welcome!).

And yes, that is me with a monkey on my head. His name is Dr. Irving and he came to visit our office a few weeks back.

What are you currently reading, or what is your favorite book you have read so far in 2012?
Ooohhh right now I’m currently reading Cinda Williams Chima’s Seven Realms series. I’ve had The Demon King for a long time, but I tried to  hold off reading it until all three books were available. However, I caved and purchased the The Exiled Queen and The Gray Wolf Throne recently and started reading. So now I’m blowing through all of them and really enjoying the story so far. Although, come to think of it by the time this posts I’ll probably be finished.. oh well! Then it’s simply time to wait until October for the conclusion!

As far as my favorite book I’ve read so far in 2012? I think it has to be A Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I just, I alternated between sobbing and laughing through the entire book and I had ALL THE FEELINGS while reading it. I adore John Green and this book cemented him as one of my all time favorite YA authors. Seriously, if you haven’t read it yet what are you waiting for? GO!

Tell us one non-book-related thing that everyone reading your blog may not know about you.
I am super nerdy. For serious. I taught myself HTML, am working on CSS and I know the Mac OS backwards and forwards. I go to Dragon Con every year (that’s me to the right with my cousins, I was dressed as Mara Jade) and this year I plan on cosplaying as Batgirl. I can school pretty much anyone in Star Wars trivia (you doubt me? Let’s go right now!). I read comic books more now than I did as a kid. I drop quotes from Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly into regular, everyday speech (also The West Wing). I have seriously tried to map out what the layout of the Battlestar Galactica universe looks like. And my best friend and I waste entirely too much time debating the ages of the eldest Weasley brothers, how many students attend Hogwarts and how bad was Professor Snape really (he let kids be tortured! Case closed).

What literary location would you most like to visit? Why?
I wanted to branch out and give a new, original answer, but I just can’t. So even though this is entirely predictable I want to go to Hogwarts damnit! I want t explore the entire castel from top to bottom, locate all the secret passages, visit the room of requirement and maybe take a nap in the Gryffindor common room (all that exploring is exhausting people, a nap is gonna have to happen). I bet I could spend an entire year there and still not feel like I’d seen everything that I wanted to.

(Okay so I’ve kinda sorta been to “Hogwarts” before. When I lived in England we toured Alnwick Castle which was used for filming the first and second movies).

Other places that would be worth a visit: The Swiss Family Robinson treehouse (c’mon, you know it’s amazing), The Dauntless compound from Divergent, Kashyyyk from The Heir to the Empire trilogy, and the log cabin where the Ingall’s lived in Kansas.

If you could eat dinner with any author or character, who would it be and why?
I’m gonna cheat here. I want to have dinner with the entire Hogwarts faculty because I can’t choose between McGonagall or Dumbledore and you can’t make me. Plus with the entire faculty I’d get to meet Hagrid, Flitwick and even Trelawney! It would be the best dinner in the entire history of dinners. No content

I mean, don’t you think it would be absolutely fascinating to sit down to dinner with all of the professors?  We can discuss their students (and what crazy pranks were pulled recently), classes, wizarding politics, their opinions on Muggles and what their favorite candies are. I’m sure it would be both entertaining and highly educational. Now the real question, how can I make this happen?

I can’t wait to read all the other interviews and get to know some of my fellow book bloggers better! Thanks for taking the time to get to know me 🙂 If you want to know more you can follow me on Twitter!

 
49 Comments

Posted by on 4 June, 2012 in Personal

 

Tags: ,

49 responses to “Kicking off Armchair BEA with “Meet the Blogger – All About Me”!

  1. Chrystal @ Snowdrop Dreams of Books

    7 June, 2012 at 7:31 am

    Love the monkey pic. 😉 I’m super nerdy too and my fiancee reminds me all the time (yet he still loves me regardless of his constant teasing). I taught myself HTML, web design and the like – haven’t attempted CSS yet. I also love Buffy, Battlestar Galactica and just started Firefly recently. 🙂

    Nice to meet you!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      7 June, 2012 at 8:24 am

      CSS is a pain in my arse! It’s gonna take a loooooong time before I feel comfortable with it!

      You’ll have to keep me updated on what you think of Firefly! I have so much love for that show.

       
  2. layoffthebooks

    5 June, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    I totally got distracted by the monkey…I want a monkey to visit me! Too cute. I love how you started blogging!

     
  3. Jenn

    5 June, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    I am super nerdy too and want to visit Hogwarts (or any castle really). That picture of you and the monkey is so cool.

     
  4. Alley

    5 June, 2012 at 10:25 am

    Dinner with the Hogwarts professors is such a smart choice (and who cares if it’s multiple literary characters. It still works!!)

     
  5. Sam (Tiny Library)

    5 June, 2012 at 3:36 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog, I’m now a new follower of yours 🙂

    I’ve always had a secret dream to be a librarian, even though I’m a teacher. I am the school librarian, although that doesn’t really count as I have to do it in addition to being a full time teacher so I hardly get any time to spend on the library.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      5 June, 2012 at 8:24 am

      Oh wow, I’m not sure I can image trying to juggle both jobs! You deserve a medal of some sort!! I highly recommend becoming a librarian, it’s a whole different world from teaching but it was a lot of fun getting my masters.

       
  6. Heather

    4 June, 2012 at 11:32 pm

    I love the photo of you with the monkey on your head. That’s great. I also love that you are “super nerdy.” I’ve been teaching myself HTML and CSS, too, so I can do things to my blog on my own. It really isn’t too hard once you get a hang of the basics. I think having dinner with the Hogwarts faculty would be FANTASTIC. I would want to sit next to Hagrid. It’s nice to finally “meet” you, too!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      5 June, 2012 at 8:23 am

      My plan is to eventually move to a hosted WordPress site, so knowing the HTML ahead of time should come in handy!

       
  7. Angelya

    4 June, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    *reads through the other comments* Yep, the monkey stands out for sure, how cute xD Y’know, I put Hogwarts as well, but until I started reading other people’s posts I had no idea it would be such a popular answer. I guess we’re all little witches and wizards at heart, eh? Have a great ABEA week 🙂
    -Angelya
    http://www.oakenbookcase.com

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 June, 2012 at 10:27 pm

      hah, I’m glad you liked the monkey image! It made me laugh and I had to use it.

       
  8. Amanda

    4 June, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    Awwww, such a cute monkey!!!

    I loved A Fault in Our Stars. John Green is amazing!

    I taught myself HTML too, years ago! I have forgotten most of it and a lot is outdated. I really want to buckle down and refresh myself on all of that and learn the new things. I loved doing it all! Who cares if it’s kinda geeky. 😉

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 June, 2012 at 10:28 pm

      Yay another girl who likes coding! I honestly didn’t realize it was all that weird to have taught myself randomly until I started talking to other people about it. Apparently it’s something us nerds just do for fun but “normal” people seem to be baffled by it!

       
  9. Kristin Hafling

    4 June, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    Love the monkey! I would also love to visit Hogwarts it would be so awesome!

     
  10. Jessi@OtherwhereCo

    4 June, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    Shiny! I love that you hit Dragon Con every year! I am in Denver, and we FINALLY have our own comic con (and James Marsters is on my my “must stalk” list). I don’t quite have the guts to cosplay but I have several Buffy shirts I’ll be rocking (bitca).

    I too am totally self taught in the world of web development (thanks Google!) major props, not many have the cohones to do that.

    Happy BEA from a new follower! And I glad I stumbled on to your blog.

    Armchair BEA: Introducing Otherwhere.Co

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      5 June, 2012 at 8:25 am

      I think Buffy shirts are a fantastic choice for con attire! I have a picture of James Marsters from Dragoncon a couple of years ago, I’ll have to locate it and link it up to you!

      Nice to meet you as well! Looking forward to keeping up with you via your blog 🙂

       
  11. Ryan

    4 June, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    I never though of the treehouse before, that would be a fabulous place to visit. Hope you enjoy the week.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      5 June, 2012 at 8:26 am

      I’ve been obsessed with the idea of having my own treehouse since I was a small child, I completely blame “The Swiss Family Robinson” for it!

       
  12. Grace @ Books Like Breathing

    4 June, 2012 at 3:56 pm

    I would love to have dinner with Professor Snape. If he called me a “Dunderheaded girl” a life goal would be met.

    Have a lovely Armchair BEA!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 June, 2012 at 4:07 pm

      hahaha, I love that that is one of your life’s goals! It’s so awesome.

       
  13. Meg @ A Bookish Affair

    4 June, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    Haha, I dream of going to Hogwarts. I might have to find a way to get to the Harry Potter theme park in Florida someday!

    Happy Armchair BEA!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 June, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      I’ve been trying to plan a trip to go there! I’m thinking maybe next winter, January or February when kids are still in school. Now, if I can only convince my younger sister to go with me!

       
  14. Rhonda

    4 June, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    I would love to visit Swiss Family Robinson’s treehouse and the log cabin on the prairie too! and Hogwarts…I guess we’re all in on that one!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 June, 2012 at 4:08 pm

      I’m so glad to hear you agree with all my places! I wish it were possible to visit the worlds from books.

       
  15. elena

    4 June, 2012 at 1:47 pm

    hi Sarah! I think you’d get along with my friend quite nicely, she too tried to figure out the students of Hogwarts and even gave them names to sort them out. I’m so jealous of you seeing the real life Hogwarts! I would love to see it one day but for now, I just have the one in Universal Studios.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 June, 2012 at 4:09 pm

      Yay! I’m not the only one who sat there and tried to puzzle out the student count! 🙂

       
  16. Alyce (@AtHomeWithBooks)

    4 June, 2012 at 1:35 pm

    I’ve got The Fault in Our Stars on my desk waiting to be read, and I’m so looking forward to it even though I know it’s going to be sad. Everyone has raved so much about it that I can’t pass it up. I almost chose Hogwarts too (because who wouldn’t want to live there?). Snape is one of my favorite characters along with Mrs. Weasley. I’ve listened to the audiobooks about a dozen times, and these two characters grow on me more each time through the books.

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      5 June, 2012 at 8:26 am

      It is totally worth the read even if it’s sad! You’ll have to let me know what you think once you’ve finished!

       
  17. Liviania

    4 June, 2012 at 12:19 pm

    I think being super nerdy is cool! I’ve really enjoyed the cons I’ve attended.

     
  18. Ann Holt

    4 June, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    I want to go back and change my answer to Hogwarts too. Ah, well. I love the design and execution of your blog. It is beautifully put together. Mine is rather random and thrown together but #THATS JUST ME.

    BOOK KEEPING

     
  19. Jo-Jo

    4 June, 2012 at 11:26 am

    Dinner with the Hogwarts faculty would be quite amazing!

     
  20. Kate @ Ex Libris

    4 June, 2012 at 10:36 am

    It’s so nice to meet you! I have many nerdy obsessions, myself. *high five*

     
  21. Annette

    4 June, 2012 at 10:29 am

    So glad to hear you are a librarian. Good luck in your job search! I’m looking forward to following your blog!

     
  22. Preet (@preetisme)

    4 June, 2012 at 9:55 am

    You have got to have the best intro picture I’ve pretty much ever seen. I mean really, who can compete with the cuteness of a monkey? Teaching yourself CSS and HTML is pretty hardcore. I now know who to go to when my Mac breaks down.(Just kidding…Maybe.)

    I’m finally making my way through Buffy now through Netflix. I like it, but I don’t think it’ll ever beat my love for Dr. Tam and Firefly in general. I try to use “gorram” in conversation, but then people look at me weird and then I cry and stuff. Great meeting you!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 June, 2012 at 10:25 am

      Ohhh, you’ll have to let me know how you enjoy Buffy as you go. It’s seriously one of the best shows ever.

      And there is nothing wrong with using “gorram” in everyday speech. But then again, I frequently tell people I could kill them with my brain, so yeah I get the weird looks too!

       
  23. Lauren@The Housework Can Wait

    4 June, 2012 at 9:41 am

    How are we not best friends? I mean, besides that whole geography thing. I hope one day I get to meet you in person, because I do ALL of your “nerdy” things (except for teaching myself programming languages – my husband did that). Actually, when my husband and I first got engaged, he introduced me to his best friend, a HUGE Star Wars nerd. And I won his eternal devotion because I completely schooled him in Star Wars Trivial Pursuit. He decided any girl who could do that was worthy of his friend.

    Thanks for stopping by my Armchair BEA Intro Post, even though we’ve already “met”!

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 June, 2012 at 10:01 am

      Yes, seriously how are we not best friends? I love finding other girls who are into geeky things just like me! Hopefully we will be able to meet up at some bookish events…you should make plans for YALL Fest in november!

      Your husband’s best friend wouldn’t happen to be single and attractive, would he ? 😉

       
      • Lauren@The Housework Can Wait

        4 June, 2012 at 10:54 am

        Sorry, no, married – but I can surely find another single nerdy guy out there 😉

        And I would LOVE to come to YALL Fest, but sadly, it takes place at the same time as a family vacation I’ve already committed to. I think my kids would be none to thrilled if I skipped out on Disney World to go to a book convention 🙂 And the Decatur Book Festival is the same weekend as my brother’s wedding. GRRRR!!! Next year I’ll try to make my family more cooperative in scheduling all their events around my book things!

        I do think I’ll be at UtopYA in July if you want to come to Nashville!

         
        • Breaking the Binding

          5 June, 2012 at 8:28 am

          Man, if I had know about that prior to now I would’ve definitely made plans to go! It looks like a great weekend, lots of writing and author events! So jealous that it’s that close to you. We’ll have to figure out a book event where we will both be able to attend soon!

           
  24. wefancybooks

    4 June, 2012 at 9:36 am

    I’m hearing nothing but great things about The Seven Realms, I saw a copy in my local store but it was reserved. I must get myself a copy! Ohh Dragon Con as Batgirl? isn’t that exciting? 😉 and you’ve been in the hogwarts castle? you are definitely lucky!

    My Introduction post here

    Jay
    We Fancy Books

     
  25. Leonicka (@leonicka)

    4 June, 2012 at 8:45 am

    I love your nerdiness! I volunteer for an organization called Ladies Learning Code and my friends run a geek-girl blog. You’d fit right in! And! My friends have been raving about John Green. I need to read it “because of reasons!” Clearly we live on Tumblr. Pleasure to meet you!

     
  26. Annette

    4 June, 2012 at 8:44 am

    I haven’t read the Seven Realms books, but I have read some of Williams’ books and really enjoyed them. Hope you have a great Armchair BEA!

    My BEA Post

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 June, 2012 at 8:47 am

      I sooo enjoyed the Seven Realms series! But, maybe wait until October and just read them all in one go? That way you aren’t waiting impatiently like me 🙂

       
  27. Libby

    4 June, 2012 at 8:37 am

    You won’t believe this, but this is the first ArmchairBEA post that I have visited where the blogger had a monkey on her head. Yep, its true!

    So, I am with you hands down on Hogwarts and the dinner, even though I gave different answers. (What was I thinking?)

     
    • Breaking the Binding

      4 June, 2012 at 8:40 am

      You know, I figured the monkey would help me to stand out. People always remember a monkey.

      You’re definitely welcome to tag along on my super awesome dinner with the Hogwarts staff! After all, the Great Hall is large enough for everyone!

       

Leave a Reply

 
