RSS

Waiting on Wednesday: June 6, 2012: “The Crimson Crown” by Cinda Williams Chima

06 Jun

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly me hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine (gotta love the name!). The idea is that it spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. So, here is my pick for the week:

The Crimson Crown
by Cinda Williams Chima
Publication Date: October 23, 2012

From Amazon:
A thousand years ago, two young lovers were betrayed—Alger Waterlow to his death, and Hanalea, Queen of the Fells, to a life without love.

Now, once again, the Queendom of the Fells seems likely to shatter apart. For young queen Raisa ana’Marianna, maintaining peace even within her own castle walls is nearly impossible; tension between wizards and Clan has reached a fevered pitch. With surrounding kingdoms seeking to prey on the Fells’ inner turmoil, Raisa’s best hope is to unite her people against a common enemy. But that enemy might be the person with whom she’s falling in love.

Through a complicated web of lies and unholy alliances, former streetlord Han Alister has become a member of the Wizard Council of the Fells. Navigating the cut-throat world of blue blood politics has never been more dangerous, and Han seems to inspire hostility among Clan and wizards alike. His only ally is the queen, and despite the perils involved, Han finds it impossible to ignore his feelings for Raisa. Before long, Han finds himself in possession of a secret believed to be lost to history, a discovery powerful enough to unite the people of the Fells. But will the secret die with him before he can use it?

A simple, devastating truth concealed by a thousand-year-old lie at last comes to light in this stunning conclusion to the Seven Realms series.

Ya’ll, I can’t even tell you how upset I was a few weeks ago when i learned that The Gray Wolf Throne was NOT the last book in the Seven Realms series. I had been waiting to read the books until they were all released and someone I managed to convince myself that it was only a trilogy and I could go ahead and read them all.

I only discovered I was wrong when I was halfway through the third book…and now I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am for the fourth (and final book for real) to come out in October. Cinda Williams Chima is an expert at high fantasy and she does not disappoint in this series. If you’re a fan of Robin McKinley or Tamora Pierce you should really check this series out.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday: June 6, 2012: “The Crimson Crown” by Cinda Williams Chima

  1. stilettostorytime

    6 June, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    I’ve never heard of this series…I will have to check it out since you so highly recommend it! I am always looking for new YA series especially those that might be out of my normal reading zone like this. Thanks for the recommendation and for using “Ya’ll” in a post. 😉

     
  2. Danielle Chapman

    6 June, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Awesome pick that I am going to have to check out!

    Thanks for sharing,
    Dani
    My WoW – http://paulettespapers.com/?p=2102

     
  3. Michelle (@chelleyreads)

    6 June, 2012 at 7:38 am

    this is a series i want to pick up soon (i hope!). heard so many great things about it.

    our WoW this week.

    -michelle

     

Leave a Reply

 
