RSS

Armchair BEA: Last day!

08 Jun

I can’t believe that we’ve made it to the end of the week already! This has been an awesome experience and I’m so glad that I was able to participate!

Today’s topic had me rather stumped. We were asked to “share tips on keeping book blogging exciting and unique to your vision for your blog.”. And well, I don’t really have any tips. I mean, i’m not exactly new to blogging, but I haven’t been very involved with it either. I’m way more interested to see what tips others have to offer and hopefully I can learn from them!

So, my final question is:ย what is you biggest tip to a newish blogger like me? Someone who has kinda started and isn’t totally green, but is looking to improve both the blog and the relationship with the bookish community as a whole?

And while waiting for answers to that, what I would like to touch on is what I see as being my vision or my plan for my blog going forward. I’ve been struggling to find a good balance between memes, reviews and original posts. I think I’ve finally settled into a rhythm I’d like to keep up. So, my plan (for now anyway) is:

Two – Three Reviews a week (depends on how quickly I read)
Sticking to the following memos (for now): What I’m Reading, Top Ten Tuesday, Waiting on Wednesday and Throwback Thursday.
At least one original content post each week, kind of a mini essay talking about something in the booking world that interests me. (I’d be interested in topic suggestions for these posts, so if you have any send ’em my way!)

Hopefully this “schedule” I’ve set for myself ย will help me keep a solid handle on my blog and ensure that I update frequently, but with quality content. Does anyone else set up a schedule for themselves like this? And if so, has it worked for you?

 

Thanks everyone for making this Armchair BEA spectacular! I hope some of you will stick around and cntinue to read my blog even though the week is over. ๐Ÿ™‚

 
 

11 responses to “Armchair BEA: Last day!

  1. Leonicka (@leonicka)

    9 June, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    Great schedule! I’m trying to develop one for myself. Right now I have a Writer Asks series, random bookish/publishing thoughts, and sporadic reviews. I think a meme or two will definitely help with content so thanks for the tip!

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      10 June, 2012 at 10:18 am

      Ohhh, your Writer Asks series sounds neat, I’ll have to check that out! I do enjoy the meme I participate it, they’re a fun way to take a different look at the books sI’m reading.

       
  2. Lauren@The Housework Can Wait

    9 June, 2012 at 12:20 am

    Woohoo! Glad we made the meme cut. (Here’s the Throwback Thursday information page for anyone who’s interested! Come join us!)

    Your schedule looks great, and a lot like the schedule I keep in my head. I’m afraid to put it in writing, because then people may hold me to it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And I’m way newer than you, so I have no tips. You should give ME tips ๐Ÿ™‚

    Actually, I got some awesome comments on my Ask the Experts post, if you want to check over there!

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      10 June, 2012 at 10:17 am

      Of course! Throwback Thursdays is one of my favorite memes to do ๐Ÿ™‚ I’lld definitely have to take a look at the tips you got, I’m sure some of them will help me as well.

       
  3. Kailana

    8 June, 2012 at 10:51 pm

    I like your template. It is simplistic. Great!

     
  4. Jae

    8 June, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    I’m the same, I participate in 2 memes and then do 3 posts on the other days and nothing on the weekend. But I want to branch out into some original articles maybe on the weekend. I just haven’t decided yet how I’m going to do it and I need to compile some posts first. One tip would be to find out what other people are talking about and then post sort of a response to that on your blog, linking back to the original article.

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      8 June, 2012 at 9:45 pm

      That’s a great idea for original posts! I’ve got a few ideas that I’ve been wanting to write on so I think I’ll run those out first, then take a look at “current” events in the book world too!

       
  5. leeanna c (@leaflette)

    8 June, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    I like the schedule. I do something similar for Tuesdays and Wednesday — my TTT and WoW are scheduled months ahead.

    I hadn’t heard of Throwback Thursday until your blog, but I may start participating. I read a lot of older books, not just new releases, and it would be a good way to showcase some of my favorites. I’m also trying to figure out how and what original content I include on my blog. I love knowing more about the blogger behind a blog, so I like a mix of bookish stuff and personal.

    I’m not sure for advice. I’m trying to figure that one out. I’m not so good about socializing, even though I want to be. I think maybe pick a few people, develop good relationships with them, and then branch out?

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      8 June, 2012 at 9:47 pm

      Throwback Thursday is my favorite meme of the week! It’s hosted by Lauren from The Housework Can Wait and Mandi from Never Too Fond of Books. I love it because there are so many great books that I read long before I started blogging and it’s a great way to share those with more people.

      I agree with you, I like knowing more about the blogger and not just the blog itself which is why I’m looking to do a bit more personal content thrown in. Maybe I’ll look at which books have impacted my life and why.

       
  6. Kristilyn

    8 June, 2012 at 11:58 am

    I think that’s a great schedule! I’m not too scheduled with original content. I try to post something that isn’t a review or a meme at least every few weeks, but I’m not too diligent on it.

    My one suggestion would be to keep it fun! Remember that blogging isn’t a job and you’re free to read what you want to read. ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      8 June, 2012 at 9:48 pm

      That’s a great reminder! I feel like if it ever starts to feel like work, it will be time to step away for a little bit and remember to breathe! It helps that I enjoy the people here and so far it’s always been fun to connect with them.

       

Leave a Reply

 
