RSS

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List

19 Jun

It’s Tuesday again and over at The Broke and the Bookish that means it’s time for another Tuesday Top Ten! This week’s topic is the Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List.

This is a great topic for me as my TBR seems to grow higher and higher every day. Honestly, at this point, “pile” is too mild of a word to use. “Tower” or even “skyscraper” may be a bit more accurate. Well, regardless fo adjective used, here are the top ten books from the list:

1. Fathomless by Jackson PearceThis is the followup to Sisters Red and Sweetly and words cannot describe how excited I am about this book.

2. Princess Academy: Palace of Stone by Shannon Hale. I loved Princess Academy when I read it for class and I was thrilled to see that there was going to be a sequel! I’ll be reading this one as soon as it releases.

3. Throne of Glass by Sarah Maas. I feel like I’ve seen this on practically everyone’s “Waiting on Wednesday” posts and TBR lists the past few weeks, and with good reason! I’m excited about this book and those who’ve read an ARC have promised men it’ll be worth the wait.

4. The Legacy of Tril: Soulbound by Heather Brewer. I adored Heather Brewer’s Vladimir Tod series and I’m excited to see what she does with a female protagonist!  This one releases today and I pretty sure I’ll be heading home after work and devouring the entire book in one sitting.

5. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. I’ve heard really great things about this book and it’s my book club’s pick for July! So even if I don’t get to the others, this one is a for sure read in the next few weeks!

6. Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer. Lauren posted her review of this a week ago at The Housework Can Wait and I fell in love with the idea of this book. I can’t wait to get a copy and start reading

7. Timepiece by Myra McEntire. I’ve been hearing spectacular things about this book and I added it to my amazon cart without really even knowing much more than a lot of my blogger friends loved it. I hope it lives up to the hype!

8. The Knife of Never Letting Go and The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness. This was my book club’s read for May (before I was a member) and at our last meeting everyone had great things to say about it. I’ve heard it ends in quite a startling way, which is why I’ve included the sequel as well!

9. Catching Jordan by Miranda Kneally. I won a copy of this during Armchair BEA week and I am so excited to get a chance to read it!

10. Changeling by Phillippa Gregory. I’m a sucker for historical fiction, especially if it’s set in Tudor England! So, I read all of the books that focused around the Tudors and enjoyed them immensely. I’m hopping her first foray into YA lives up to my expectation.

What books are on your TBR lists? Share your suggestions and I may add more books to my list!

 

Tags:

13 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books On My Summer TBR List

  1. Book Nympho

    20 June, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    I forgot about Shadow and Bone! I really want to read it!

     
  2. Lauren @ Story Bound

    19 June, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    Love your list!! I haven’t read any Jackson Pearce but I want to, especially because I absolutely adore fairy tales! And Shannon Hale – love what I have read from her but haven’t read Princess Academy even though I’ve heard amazing things. Also want to read Changeling, Timepiece (loved Hourglass), Shadow of Bone, and Throne of Glass

     
  3. Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    19 June, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    Shadow and Bone and Throne of Glass are on my long term TBR list. I’v heard great things about them.

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      19 June, 2012 at 9:33 pm

      I can’t wait to start “Shadow and Bone”! It’s my book club’s pick for July so I better make sure I read it before then.

       
  4. Tanya Patrice

    19 June, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    Interesting list! Throne of Glass is one I also want to read at some point. Hope you get to all of them – and enjoy them all 🙂

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      19 June, 2012 at 9:34 pm

      I may have to check back in with my list later and just to make sure I’ve actually read them al!

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

       
  5. Lauren@The Housework Can Wait

    19 June, 2012 at 9:03 am

    I’m also really looking forward to Throne of Glass and Shadow and Bone, although they probably won’t be summer reads for me (too many books to afford them all when they come out!) And good call adding Ask and the Answer, since the end of Knife of Never Letting Go will make you want to throw things. Seriously. I just about had a fit.

    Have you read Hourglass yet? Timepiece is the sequel, and I think you will LOVE it, but you should read Hourglass first if you haven’t already. It goes really quickly, and then Timepiece moves even faster.

    You have an awesome list. Most of your picks would have been on mine if we were allowed to pick more than 10 🙂

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      19 June, 2012 at 9:24 am

      I’ve got “Hourglass” already! It’s been on my Kindle for a while now and I haven’t gotten to it. When i first wrote up this list I figured I’d have already read it, but apparently that hasn’t happened yet :-/

       
      • Lauren@The Housework Can Wait

        19 June, 2012 at 9:44 am

        Okay good! Just making sure, since when you said you didn’t know anything about it, I wanted to make sure you at LEAST knew it was a sequel 🙂 They both go really fast. Probably won’t take you more than a few days to get through both.

         
  6. Sara Kovach

    19 June, 2012 at 6:37 am

    I have seen Throne of Glass and Timepiece on several lists. I’ll have to make sure I move them up on my list too. They both look promising!!!!

    My top 10: http://sosimplesara.blogspot.com/2012/06/whats-on-my-summer-tbr-list.html

     

Leave a Reply

 
