RSS

Throwback Thursday June 28th: Mrs. Mike by Benedict and Nancy Freedman

28 Jun

Throwback Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by The Housework Can Wait and Never Too Fond of Books! It’s the nature of book blogging to focus mainly on new releases, but there are thousands of great books out there that haven’t seen the “New Releases” shelf in years. Through Throwback Thursdays THCW and NTFB hope to be able to bring attention to some older titles that may not be at the top of the current bestseller list, but still deserve a spot in your To-Be-Read pile.

This week’s Throwback Thursday book is Mrs. Mike by Benedict and Nancy Freedman

Summary from Amazon: Recently arrived in Calgary, Alberta after a long, hard journey from Boston, sixteen-year-old Katherine Mary O’Fallon never imagined that she could lose her heart so easily—or so completely. Standing over six feet tall, with “eyes so blue you could swim in them,” Mike Flannigan is a well-respected sergeant in the Canadian Mounted Police—and a man of great courage, kindness, and humor. Together, he and his beloved Kathy manage to live a good, honest life in this harsh, unforgiving land—and find strength in a love as beautiful and compelling as the wilderness around them.

Why You Should Read This Book: I first read this book waaay back in eighth grade because it had the most possible AR points (I had a system and it worked!). Before I even picked it up I had a feeling I’d enjoy it, the historical fiction was right up my alley! And I was absolutely correct, it was the perfect blend of historical fiction and love story. Oh, and did I mention that it’s loosely based on the true story of Katherine Mary O’Fallon?

I just reread this book about a year ago when I came across a copy in a used bookstore. It had been long enough from my original read that it was as if I as reading the story for the first time. Katherine is a fiercely independent woman and it takes a lot of gut to pick up and move from Boston to Calgary not knowing a soul. I honestly think I appreciate the story even more as an adult, I can understand more of her fear and uncertainty and I admire her courage even more. That and I’m slightly jealous of her marriage, she and Mike are wonderful together. 🙂

If, like me, you appreciate Historical fiction as a genre then this should be added to your TBR list! I promise you won’t regret it.

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Throwback Thursday June 28th: Mrs. Mike by Benedict and Nancy Freedman

  1. Lauren@The Housework Can Wait

    28 June, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    This sounds fabulous! I really need to dabble more in historical fiction – I don’t read a lot of it, but every time I do, I come away so satisfied.

     
  2. akamaireader

    28 June, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    Now I’m anxious to read this one!

     

Leave a Reply

 
