RSS

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading June 18th?

18 Jun


Welcome to It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey. This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from!

Okay, so work completely consumed me last week and I was only able to get one book read, one that wasn’t even on my list last week! How I completely forgot about The Golden Lily releasing on Tuesday, I don’t even KNOW! After all, it was my most anticipated book of the summer! Needless to say I cracked open that book as soon as I got it and read it entirely in a day.

Anyway, here are the two I’m going to continue reading this week and one more I’ve added cause it releases tomorrow!

I started A Clash of Kings last week, but I knew there was no way I’d be able to finish it. SO, this one will probably be hanging around for another week or so. It’s a re-read but I keep putting it down to read other things so it’s been slow going.

Okay, so For Darkness Shows the Stars was SUPPOSED to have arrived at my house on release day, which was last Tuesday. However, due to some snafu with Amazon I didn’t get it until Friday. And then I was slammed with work and Father’s day stuff all weekend so I didn’t get a chance to read it. I plan tos tart it on lunch today!

Soulbound is the first book in Heather Brewer’s new fantasy series Legacy of Trill. I have been sooo excited about this books since she first announced it and I can’t wait til tomorrow to start reading it!

What are ya’ll reading this week? If you have anything you think I’d enjoy let me know so I can add it to my TBR list (the list that never ends…)!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on 18 June, 2012 in WAYR

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading June 18th?

  1. kellywiggains

    25 June, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    I’m dying to read For Darkness Shows the Stars. Jane Austen in space. Seriously. Also, have you read this interview? It makes me want to read the book even more. Also watch Pirates of the Caribbean again.

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      26 June, 2012 at 8:57 am

      Nooo, I have not read the interview! But now I have something to do to procrastinate even further on my work 🙂

      I LOVED For Darkness Shows the Stars. I’m working on my review right now, but It’s probably going to just be a lot of gushing.

       
  2. Jen Vincent (@mentortexts)

    18 June, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    I saw Heather Brewer speak at IRA this year and she was amazing, very articulate. I have read some of her Vlad Todd series but want to read other books she has written. Thanks for linking up!

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      18 June, 2012 at 8:46 pm

      She is by far one of my favorite YA authors to hear at conferences! I’ve seen her at DragonCon before and I’m very excited cause she’ll be back this year!

       
  3. Lettie

    18 June, 2012 at 4:00 pm

    For Darkness Shows the Stars looks amazing!! Definitely on the TBR pile 🙂 Silly amazon tho! It’s so annoying when that happens!
    Good luck with Game of Thrones- My friend has literally spoilt the entire book and tv series for me 😛
    My Monday round up- http://tinyurl.com/bshtfse 🙂
    Have a lovely week!

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      18 June, 2012 at 7:58 pm

      Luckily I’m on a re-read of the first three books from ASOIAF, so I already know most of what has happened. Thank goodness, otherwise I would’ve been spoiled silly by everyone hushing over the tv show!

       
  4. leeanna c (@leaflette)

    18 June, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    I want to read Soulbound! I’ll be curious to see what you think of it. My library doesn’t have it on order yet :/

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      18 June, 2012 at 7:58 pm

      I’m sooo excited for Soulbound! Have you read any of Heather Brewer’s other books? I enjoyed the Chronicles of Vladimir Tod, but I’m not sold on the Slayer Chronicles.

       
  5. studentspyglass

    18 June, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    A Clash of Kings is what I’m SUPPOSED to be reading at the minute….but stupidly I started and then got distracted by other books, so instead of getting on with it, I’ve been putting it off. And now because of the gap, I’m finding it much harder to get back into. I’m determined to try and make some progress with it this week though!

    Enjoy For Darkness shows the stars, it sounds really good, and I’ve seen a lot of people with it on their ‘To read’ list.

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      18 June, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      I totally know how that is! I keep getting sidetracked from reading it as well. I stopped to read Bloodlines and then haven’t been able to pick it back up.

       
  6. Lauren@The Housework Can Wait

    18 June, 2012 at 9:28 am

    Okay, so I’m terrible and still haven’t started Game of Thrones, but I think I’m going to save it for my cruise next month, when I have lots of time to devote to it and no Internet to distract me (CURSE YOU TWITTER!)

    I was given a copy of For Darkness Shows the Stars (ARC) over the weekend, and it’s taking all my willpower not to jump right into it. I can’t wait to hear what you think! And then I’ll probably still need to get the finished copy, since I heard it’s different from the ARC.

    And I’ve also been interested in Soulbound, but will probably wait a while to pick it up.

    Thanks for stopping by my It’s Monday post!

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      18 June, 2012 at 7:56 pm

      It’s a time suck that’s for sure! I’m slooowlly slogging through my reread, but I’m determined to get to the fourth book which will be new for me.

      I should be finished with “For Darkness Shows the Stars” by this weekend, so look for my review around then. *fingers crossed*

       
  7. Sheila (Book Journey)

    18 June, 2012 at 8:31 am

    You have some great looking books coming up! Enjoy!

     

Leave a comment