RSS

TGIF: Deliciously Swoon-Worthy Quotes!

13 Jul

TGIF is a weekly meme hosted by Ginger at GReads. Every Friday she posts a new question and it’s a really fun way to discover new blogs.

This weeks question is: Quotes That Make You Swoon: What are some of the most swoon-worthy quotes you’ve experienced in a book?

Wow, this one was super difficult! Because I know the moments I found to be super swoon-worthy, but I don’t always remember the quotes that happened at those moments.  BUT that’s what Goodreads is for, yes? To help me find/remember the exact quote from a specific book!

So, here are some my favorite swoon-worthy quotes from books I’ve read recently (be warned, there may be slight spoilers):

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.”
― Jane AustenPride And Prejudice

“If you stay, I’ll do whatever you want. I’ll quit the band, go with you to New York. But if you need me to go away, I’ll do that, too. I was talking to Liz and she said maybe coming back to your old life would be too painful, that maybe it’d be easier for you to erase us. And that would suck, but I’d do it. I can lose you like that if I don’t lose you today. I’ll let you go. If you stay.”
― Gayle FormanIf I Stay

“I tried to be a better person for her– but it was to impress her, to get her to want me. But when I’m around you, I want to be better because… well, because it feels right. Because I want to. You make me want to become something greater than myself. I want to excel. You inspire me in every act, every word, every glance. I look at you, and you’re like… like light made into flesh. […] You have no clue how beautiful you are or how brightly you shine.”
― Richelle MeadThe Golden Lily

“I have a dream,” he said slowly. “I persist in dreaming it, although it has often seemed to me that it could never come true. I dream of a home with a hearth-fire in it, a cat and dog, the footsteps of friends — and YOU!”
― L.M. MontgomeryAnne of the Island

“I’ve been saying it so long to you, you just wouldn’t listen. Every time you said ‘Farm Boy do this’ you thought I was answering ‘As you wish’ but that’s only because you were hearing wrong. ‘I love you’ was what it was, but you never heard.”
― William GoldmanThe Princess Bride

“You have to kiss me,” I find myself saying.
“Yeah.” He leans closer. “I do.”
― Huntley FitzpatrickMy Life Next Door

I know I could pick a half-dozen more, but I should probably keep it simple today. However, I may be revisiting this question later on and adding more quotes!

What are you favorite swoon-worthy quotes? Or Books? Let me know in the comments!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on 13 July, 2012 in TGIF

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “TGIF: Deliciously Swoon-Worthy Quotes!

  1. Milka@ReadReadRead

    14 July, 2012 at 5:50 am

    Oh, the Pride and Prejudice one! And the one from If I Stay.
    Also the quote from My Life Next Door makes me want to read it even more atm.

     
  2. Lauren @ Story Bound

    13 July, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    Love that Princess Bride quote! That movie/book is probably the most quotable thing ever. Seriously. There’s so many good quotes! Loved the others as well 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

     
  3. akamaireader

    13 July, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    Love the P&P quote and If I Stay! 🙂

     
  4. tekkah

    13 July, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAADRIAN!!!!!

    (that is all)

     
  5. Sherri@FIK*TISH*UHS

    13 July, 2012 at 11:52 am

    I love the quote from Anne of the Island!

    Here’s mine:http://fiktishuhs.blogspot.com/

     
  6. Brittany

    13 July, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Love it!! I loved If I Stay and I’m surprised at how many people quoted The Princess Bride, actually. It’s so pefect though 🙂 Both are two of my favorites!

     
  7. Alexa Loves Books (@alexalovesbooks)

    13 July, 2012 at 10:16 am

    I love that you picked that quote from Anne of the Island! I’m totally do for a reread of that series – and I totally swooned reading this ❤

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      13 July, 2012 at 1:06 pm

      Anne’s response to that request is one of my favorite moments in the entire series. Love it so much!

       

Leave a comment