RSS

Waiting on Wednesday: June 20, 2012: Fathomless by Jackson Pearce

20 Jun

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly me hosted by Jill over at Breaking the Spine (gotta love the name!). The idea is that it spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating. So, here is my pick for the week:

Fathomless
by Jackson Pearce
Publication Date: September 4, 2012

From Amazon:
Celia Reynolds is the youngest in a set of triplets and the one with the least valuable power. Anne can see the future, and Jane can see the present, but all Celia can see is the past. And the past seems so insignificant — until Celia meets Lo.

Lo doesn’t know who she is. Or who she was. Once a human, she is now almost entirely a creature of the sea — a nymph, an ocean girl, a mermaid — all terms too pretty for the soulless monster she knows she’s becoming. Lo clings to shreds of her former self, fighting to remember her past, even as she’s tempted to embrace her dark immortality.

When a handsome boy named Jude falls off a pier and into the ocean, Celia and Lo work together to rescue him from the waves. The two form a friendship, but soon they find themselves competing for Jude’s affection. Lo wants more than that, though. According to the ocean girls, there’s only one way for Lo to earn back her humanity. She must persuade a mortal to love her . . . and steal his soul.

This is the last book in Jackson Pearce’s fairy tale retelling series, the others are Sisters Red and Sweetly, and the series is simply amazing. The series is rather loosely centered around some of the Reynolds children, but you can read them in any order or pick and choose which one interests you the most.

Pearce puts an interesting spin on the fairly tales that we all gew up with as children. She puts a paranormal spin on the traditional stories while still staying rather grounded in modern society. I know it sounds difficult to do, but she manages it and she does it WELL. If you’re into paranormal fantasy or just really love fairy tales this is definitely a series worth looking into.

 

Tags: , ,

16 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday: June 20, 2012: Fathomless by Jackson Pearce

  1. Lori

    21 June, 2012 at 8:42 am

    I hadn’t heard of this one or of Jackson Pearce before and now I’m totally wondering why?! This one definitely looks interesting and I’ll be looking into the others you mentioned as well. I love fairytale retellings, so long as they’re good! Thanks for sharing 🙂

     
  2. Lauren @ Story Bound

    20 June, 2012 at 8:00 pm

    I haven’t read any Jackson Pearce books yet but they are on my list. I LOVE fairy tale retellings and someone just recently told me that I must read Jackson Pearce. Of course I added all of them to my to-read list! So, you’re pick looks awesome! Fairy tales = Win!

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      21 June, 2012 at 12:21 pm

      If you know of any fairy tale retellings I should check out, let me know! I’m always looking for good ones. 🙂

       
  3. Merin

    20 June, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    I still haven’t read any of Jackson Pearce’s books, although they’re on my to-read list (especially since I love fairy tale retellings!).Great pick! I’m a new follower. 🙂

    My WoW post

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      21 June, 2012 at 12:21 pm

      Yay! Thanks for finding me 🙂 I’m a HUGE Jackson Pearce fan, her stories are incredible!

       
      • Merin

        21 June, 2012 at 3:00 pm

        I’ve heard really good things about them, but just haven’t had time to read them. There are just so many good books out there that I want to read!

         
  4. Lisa @ Lost in Literature

    20 June, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    Hmmm… this is a new one to me. Very interesting! Who doesn’t love a good fairytale retelling? 🙂

    Lisa @ Lost in Literature
    My WoW

     
  5. Aishah

    20 June, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    Awww..the covers beautiful…i’m not fond of books about faeries but this one looks good! Great pick this week.

    You can see my WOW here!

     
  6. Courtney (@Shortskiee)

    20 June, 2012 at 11:53 am

    Seen this around some blogs. I love the cover and I really need to read some of Jackson Pearce’s works 🙂

    Shortskie’s WoW

     
  7. Ann (@TeaAndText)

    20 June, 2012 at 11:01 am

    I haven’t heard of any of these, but fairytales, and retellings? Greatest combination ever! I’ll have to check these out!

    My WoW

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      20 June, 2012 at 11:08 am

      They are definitely worth the read! Jackson Pearce has now been added to the list of “authors where i will preorder any book they write without knowing a thing about it”. She’s that awesome.

      Thanks for stopping by!

       
  8. Jenea Whittington

    20 June, 2012 at 9:54 am

    This sounded good, I just added it to my TBR… Great Pick..

    Happy Reading..
    Jenea @ Books Live Forever
    http://booksliveforever.com/?p=1799

     
  9. wefancybooks

    20 June, 2012 at 9:36 am

    Fathomless is a mermaid book right? proves that Jackson Pearce can right anything! totally love her!

    My WoW picks

    ~Jay
    We Fancy Books

     
  10. Danica Page

    20 June, 2012 at 8:46 am

    Ooh! Why haven’t I heard of this! This sounds great. Great pick! I’m going to have to check this series out.

    Check out my Waiting on Wednesday here.

    ~Danica Page
    Taking It One Page at a Time

    P.S. I love your blog. I’ll have to bookmark this one.

     
    • Sarah @ Breaking the Binding

      20 June, 2012 at 10:28 am

      Jackson Pearce is amazing! If you love fairytale retellings I’m confident you’ll enjoy the books in this series!

       

Leave a comment